Starting out on Oolite on a new iMac

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Starting out on Oolite on a new iMac

Post by JazHaz » Sun May 06, 2012 8:17 am

Been using my stepson's brand new 27" iMac, whilst he's out, on a guest account.

First thing I did was to install Oolite 1.76 :) and copied over my OXPs. First problem was I couldn't work out how to copy my saves (where do they go? there doesn't seem to be an Oolite.app folder), so I started with a new Jameson.

Oolite started up windowed, and I figured out how to maximise the window. Later managed to make it go to fullscreen. But how do you exit fullscreen?? No idea.

Anyway. There are lots of problems on this iMac/Oolite.

I can't buy or sell trade goods in fullscreen. When I try the left/right arrow on the trade screen I get an error sound. In windowed mode it works.

When I tried to launch, several times I just got fined and dumped back inside the station.

Eventually I managed to undock, and tried a docking run on Lave station. I had it all lined up perfectly, and got inside the docking port, when all went black instead of docking. The ship flew right through the station and out the back!

I restarted the game and tried hyperspacing to Zaonce. Got the new BGS hyperspace and on arrival at Zaonce, there was nothing there. No stars, no sun, no planet, no space dust. Just blackness. No beacons on my ASC either.

I'd like to post my log, but I don't know where that is either.

All this might be because I was on a guest account. Will ask my stepson when he gets in to set me up an account.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Starting out on Oolite on a new iMac

Post by JensAyton » Sun May 06, 2012 9:20 am

JazHaz wrote:First thing I did was to install Oolite 1.76 :) and copied over my OXPs. First problem was I couldn't work out how to copy my saves (where do they go? there doesn't seem to be an Oolite.app folder)
Anywhere, but ~/oolite-saves is the default. (If you load a game in windowed mode, you get a normal Mac file browser. Oolite’s built-in file browser can also select files anywhere in the file system.)
JazHaz wrote:Oolite started up windowed, and I figured out how to maximise the window. Later managed to make it go to fullscreen. But how do you exit fullscreen?? No idea.
Command-F. It says so next to the menu command that got you there in the first place. :-)

None of your other problems are familiar. To find the log, open Oolite and select “Show Previous Log” from the Oolite menu. If you hold down Option (⌥) it turns into “Logs Folder”.

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Starting out on Oolite on a new iMac

Post by JazHaz » Sun May 06, 2012 9:34 am

Ahruman wrote:
JazHaz wrote:First thing I did was to install Oolite 1.76 :) and copied over my OXPs. First problem was I couldn't work out how to copy my saves (where do they go? there doesn't seem to be an Oolite.app folder)
Anywhere, but ~/oolite-saves is the default. (If you load a game in windowed mode, you get a normal Mac file browser. Oolite’s built-in file browser can also select files anywhere in the file system.)
What I should have done was to save the Jameson commander, and then look for the oolite-saves folder.
Ahruman wrote:
JazHaz wrote:Oolite started up windowed, and I figured out how to maximise the window. Later managed to make it go to fullscreen. But how do you exit fullscreen?? No idea.
Command-F. It says so next to the menu command that got you there in the first place. :-)
Knew I should have looked on the quick start guide! :wink:
Ahruman wrote:None of your other problems are familiar. To find the log, open Oolite and select “Show Previous Log” from the Oolite menu. If you hold down Option (⌥) it turns into “Logs Folder”.
Unfortunately when I logged off the guest account, all installed files got deleted. Next time I try it, I'll try your tips.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

User avatar
Colonel Wasabi
Competent
Competent
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 8:02 pm

Re: Starting out on Oolite on a new iMac

Post by Colonel Wasabi » Fri May 11, 2012 9:51 pm

I can get in and out of full screen using fn-F12 together.......works fine.

Running Oolite on an early 2011 MBA.....and have not experienced any of your problems - not that that really helps you much.

How did you get your OXPs running ? I had to put mine in the Resources folder within the Oolite 'package'....could not find an AddOns directory and making one up didn't work.

Good luck,
Colonel Wasabi

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Re: Starting out on Oolite on a new iMac

Post by Commander McLane » Sun May 13, 2012 6:56 pm

Colonel Wasabi wrote:How did you get your OXPs running ? I had to put mine in the Resources folder within the Oolite 'package'....could not find an AddOns directory and making one up didn't work.
Put your AddOns directory (note the spelling) just right next to your Oolite 'package'. That's a much better place than anywhere inside the package.

Post Reply