Installing OXPs

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
Ray
Poor
Poor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:41 pm

Installing OXPs

Post by Ray » Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:58 pm

I'm sure this has been asked over and over again. I've downloaded a couple of OXPs, unzipped them and put them in my AddOns folder. I just can't get them to work. What am I doing wrong?

I'm running Oolite on a Mac.

Thanks in anticipation.

Ray

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by JensAyton » Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:08 pm

  • Run Oolite and select “Expansion Packs” in the “Oolite” menu in the menu bar. Does it open the AddOns folder with the OXPs in? If not, move them there. and restart Oolite.
  • If this doesn’t help, press 2 while docked and check if the option “Reset to Unrestricted Play” appears (at the bottom). If so, select it. OXPs are not used in strict mode.
  • If it still doesn’t work, restart Oolite and select “Show Previous Log” from the “Oolite” menu. Find the bit that starts with “[searchPaths.dumpAll]” (shortly after the bit with a lot of GL_stuff. This shows where it is looking and what is loaded.

Ray
Poor
Poor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:41 pm

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Ray » Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:25 pm

Ahruman wrote:
  • Run Oolite and select “Expansion Packs” in the “Oolite” menu in the menu bar. Does it open the AddOns folder with the OXPs in? If not, move them there. and restart Oolite.
  • If this doesn’t help, press 2 while docked and check if the option “Reset to Unrestricted Play” appears (at the bottom). If so, select it. OXPs are not used in strict mode.
  • If it still doesn’t work, restart Oolite and select “Show Previous Log” from the “Oolite” menu. Find the bit that starts with “[searchPaths.dumpAll]” (shortly after the bit with a lot of GL_stuff. This shows where it is looking and what is loaded.
Thanks for the quick response.

Selecting "Expansion Packs" does nothing.
I'm in Unrestricted Play.
...and Previous Log shows:-


21:10:23.557 [searchPaths.dumpAll]: Unrestricted mode - resource paths:
/Applications/Oolite.app/Contents/Resources
21:10:27.468 [script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 5 world scripts:
oolite-cloaking-device 1.76.1
oolite-constrictor-hunt 1.76.1
oolite-nova 1.76.1
oolite-thargoid-plans 1.76.1
oolite-trumbles 1.76.1
21:10:27.731 [loading.complete]: ========== Loading complete. ==========
21:11:07.173 [script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 5 world scripts:
oolite-cloaking-device 1.76.1
oolite-constrictor-hunt 1.76.1
oolite-nova 1.76.1
oolite-thargoid-plans 1.76.1
oolite-trumbles 1.76.1

Closing log at 2012-08-19 20:15:30 +0000.

So do I insert the OXPs into /Applications/Oolite.app/Contents/Resources then?

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by JensAyton » Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:35 pm

Ray wrote:So do I insert the OXPs into /Applications/Oolite.app/Contents/Resources then?
Definitely don’t do that. :-) The recommended location is ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Eric Walch » Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:51 pm

You can find some additional information for locations of the 'addOns' folder here. There should have been one in your original zip though. The location mentioned above by Ahruman is the best. That is inside the library of the user.

Ray
Poor
Poor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:41 pm

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Ray » Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:00 pm

Ahruman wrote:
Ray wrote:So do I insert the OXPs into /Applications/Oolite.app/Contents/Resources then?
Definitely don’t do that. :-) The recommended location is ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns
That's where they are .. but it still won't work.

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by JazHaz » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:15 pm

Might be worth uninstalling Oolite completely and reinstalling with the standard options.

User avatar
Rese249er
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:19 pm
Location: Well, I WAS in G3...

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Rese249er » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:22 pm

JazHaz wrote:Might be worth uninstalling Oolite completely and reinstalling with the standard options.
Isn't running oolite-update supposed to fix a broken install?

Edit:
README.TXT wrote:Now you have installed oolite, you can update it by running the
oolite-update script. A shortcut pointing at that script is installed
in /usr/bin. Running this updater will be considerably faster than downloading
a new package. It uses rsync, and so can update from any version to any later
version or even try to restore a broken Oolite installation
Granted, this is the Linux readme, so maybe useless.
Got all turned around, lost my nav connection... Where am I now?

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Commander McLane » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:28 pm

Which version of the game are you running? Have you downloaded an install version or have you built from the source yourself? The first line of your log should carry that information. Looks something like this:

Code: Select all

22:48:49.926 [log.header]: Opening log for Oolite version 1.76.1 (x86-64 test release) under Mac OS X Version 10.6.8 (Build 10K549) at 2012-08-18 22:48:49 +0200.
It's obvious that your AddOns directory isn't recognized. It should appear right below the

Code: Select all

21:10:23.557 [searchPaths.dumpAll]: Unrestricted mode - resource paths:
/Applications/Oolite.app/Contents/Resources
What's not clear is the reason for this.

Another shot in the dark: are you sure you have named the directory correctly? It must be "AddOns": upper case "A" and upper case "O". Oolite is case-sensitive, therefore "Addons" won't do.

Ray wrote:
Ahruman wrote:
Ray wrote:So do I insert the OXPs into /Applications/Oolite.app/Contents/Resources then?
Definitely don’t do that. :-) The recommended location is ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns
That's where they are .. but it still won't work.
Another shot in the dark: does the game have the necessary reading permissions to access the directory?

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Eric Walch » Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:45 pm

Commander McLane wrote:Another shot in the dark:
The recommended location is ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns
While we are shooting. I re-read the wiki page. There is nowhere explained that '~/Library' means the library in the user area and not the general library. Fanatic users think it will be clear to everybody that '~' means user, but it might not be clear to all mac users.

Ray
Poor
Poor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:41 pm

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Ray » Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:01 pm

Another shot in the dark: are you sure you have named the directory correctly? It must be "AddOns": upper case "A" and upper case "O". Oolite is case-sensitive, therefore "Addons" won't do.
It's definitely AddOns, but I have discovered one thing that seems curious. I have the oxp's in two locations:-
/Applications/Oolite 1.76.1/AddOns
and
/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns

Yet, if I do a search for the oxp, it only finds it in my Downloads folder.

Does that give a clue?

Ray
Poor
Poor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:41 pm

Re: Installing OXPs

Post by Ray » Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:13 pm


While we are shooting. I re-read the wiki page. There is nowhere explained that '~/Library' means the library in the user area and not the general library. Fanatic users think it will be clear to everybody that '~' means user, but it might not be clear to all mac users.
OK, it was in the general library. I have now created a folder in the user library area.

IT WORKS!

Thanks for your help

Post Reply