Page 1 of 1

Audio fails

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:29 am
by jtarheel42
During the game, the audio completely cuts out. Anyone else having this problem? Any way around it?

Thanks!

23:57:39.306 [sound.load.error]: Could not create OpenAL buffer
23:57:39.306 [ov.debug]: Error -50 queueing buffers
23:57:42.426 [sound.load.error]: Could not create OpenAL buffer
23:57:42.426 [ov.debug]: Error -50 queueing buffers
23:57:55.857 [sound.load.error]: Could not create OpenAL buffer
23:57:55.857 [ov.debug]: Error -50 queueing buffers

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.93 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 11 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:25 pm
by pagroove
Yes I have Audio problems to. Sometimes completely hanging. It sounds indeed as an audiobuffer problem.

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:09 pm
by jtarheel42
Normally, it happens in the heat of battle. Only way around it, quit and restart Oolite.

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:13 pm
by steen
Same here, sound disappears after some time of gaming, usually after 30-40 minutes and whilst docking fiddling around with the menus or whilst in middle of batt.e

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:56 pm
by Cody
Hi steen, and welcome. Mac support is a bit thin on the ground lately.

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:29 pm
by steen
Cody wrote:
Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:56 pm
Hi steen, and welcome. Mac support is a bit thin on the ground lately.
Not a bigger problem actually, it is just to save and restart the game.

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:23 am
by phonebook
reviving a two year old topic, but in the heat of the battle my audio doesn't cut out, but gets a massive amount of distortion and/or feedback.

A restart solves it- but only until the next battle.

I wonder if there is a way of stopping the sound from the lasers?

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:32 am
by phonebook
disabling death comms expansion pack has fixed this issue for me

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:27 am
by phkb
:shock:

Um... but Death Comms has no sound effects in it. So, while I'm happy you found a fix, I have no idea why it fixed the issue!

Unless... did you have spoken messages on?

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:25 pm
by phonebook
Just checked, I have them turned off, I also have sound level to mute but it I can't fathom what has been muted! the game makes lots of noise

I have BGS if thats any help

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:17 pm
by phkb
phonebook wrote:I also have sound level to mute
Which method did you use to mute? By turning down the sound to zero in the options screen, using the "-nosound" command line option when starting Oolite, or by muting your system entirely?

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:27 pm
by phonebook
I turned down the sound to zero in the options screen

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:32 am
by phonebook
Ok so.......

The problem started up again, and I shall try to describe.

It can happen both in combat and if I am docked.

In combat when I kill someone it seems like the last sound played during that combat gets looped ad nauseam. Sometimes I get the impression that when I go into combat again, then it overides the loop. But that is probably all the new noises masking it. Certainly firing random laser shots does not kill the noise.

In the station, obviously there are a lot of noises going on from BGS. If I hit 2 I go to the Load Save Etc screen and it should be silence. And sometimes it is silence. But mostly it eternally loops a humming noise. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ or HMMMMMMMMMMMM. hitting 3 or whatever goes back to the station and I get the sweet sounds of BGS. Hitting 2 I go back to Load save etc, and it may be a different hmmmmm or bzzzzzzzzz, or it maybe silence.

I am using a 2009 mac pro 4,1 flashed to 5,1 and upgraded to 12 core dual xeons, RX580 saphire pulse graphics, on Mojave 10.14.4. I have looked everywhere, even on everymac, but i cant seem to find what the audio module is, but it is whatever is built in.

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:52 pm
by another_commander
I'm afraid we're going to have a very hard time debugging this. Currently there is no active Mac port maintainer and whatever we do now on a Mac is basically blind debugging (i.e. coding up something that we hope will fix a problem and then pray that it does). In this particular case though, I have no idea where to even begin looking, especially since this seems to be a Mac-only thing, with no apparent way to reproduce either in Windows or in Linux..

Re: Audio fails

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:37 pm
by phonebook
thats ok, I'm just reporting what I'f finding rather than demanding solutions.

In my office rather than my mac here, I have a machine running parallels- I'll see if the windows version runs without fault through the macs hardware. Then at least we'll know if it is a code thing or a code plus hardware thing.