Resource folder?

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:27 am

Been meaning to ask this for a while now but haven't had any issues that I know of because of it.
Okay in the game contents folder I don't have an Add-ons folder, only a Resource folder. I have been placing oxp's or z's in there. Seems to work fine.
Do I need to create an Add-ons folder?
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

User avatar
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
Posts: 6203
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: Carter's Snort

Re: Resource folder?

Post by Disembodied » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:21 am

BlackWolf wrote:Do I need to create an Add-ons folder?
Yes, if you want to have manual control over OXPs. Make sure it's called AddOns, without a hyphen.

User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:42 pm

Disembodied wrote:
Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:21 am
BlackWolf wrote:Do I need to create an Add-ons folder?
Yes, if you want to have manual control over OXPs. Make sure it's called AddOns, without a hyphen.
Well that didn't work.
None of the OXZ's in the new AddOns folder are recognized.
AddOns folder is in the Resource folder.
So what's wrong cause now I can't play any of my saved games.
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13557
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Resource folder?

Post by Cody » Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:49 pm

Wiki says:
Found in the folder that contains the Oolite application. Alternatively you can also have the AddOns folder in your user area at ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns/.
I've no idea how Macs work, but I think the AddOns folder needs to be a level or two up from Resources.

User avatar
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
Posts: 6203
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: Carter's Snort

Re: Resource folder?

Post by Disembodied » Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:52 pm

The AddOns folder should be at the same level as Oolite.app.

User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:31 pm

What?
I have no idea what you mean.
I'm sorry, I'm 50 years old and never had a computer class in my life. I know how to surf the net,. Play games, and teaching myself digital arts.
You'll have to explain things to me like a 3rd grader. Lmao
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

User avatar
hoqllnq
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:32 pm

Re: Resource folder?

Post by hoqllnq » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:16 pm

In ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite/
there are 2 folders: 'AddOns' and 'Managed AddOns'.

You can use the AddOns folder there.

Or you can create a folder named 'AddOns' in the same folder where the Oolite application is.
This second option is (imho) more convenient, since ~/Library doesn't show up in Finder normally.

User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:26 pm

How do you find that?
I type in exactly what you have into finder and come up with nothing.
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:35 pm

Wait, used Spotlight instead and found Managed AddOns folder.
Do I move the AddOns folder I created into it?
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5389
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Resource folder?

Post by another_commander » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:38 pm

Messing with the Managed AddOns folder may interfere with the correct operation of the OXP Manager. It's best if you don't do it. Try checking under ~/Library/Application Support/Oolite and if you don't see an AddOns folder there, create it and then move your OXPs there.

User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:51 pm

Okay thank you.
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

User avatar
BlackWolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Resource folder?

Post by BlackWolf » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:56 pm

Alright it all loaded up fine, opening screen changed, but looks like everything is working fine.
Thanks guys now I know it's done the right way. I really didn't want to screw it up.
Creativity is a gift, use it well.

Post Reply