Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Post Reply
nanite2000
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:44 pm

Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by nanite2000 »

Hi,

I don't know if anyone has played (or heard of) FFED3D, but I, and a few others, are trying to improve it's gaming experience.

The game is currently missing a number of assets. In particular we are lacking updated 3D models of the classic models (Gecko, Moray, Thargoid Ships, Space Station, and Transporter).

I was wondering if it would be possible to convert the ship models (and customised models) used by Oolite into the .X format used in FFED3D.

If it were possible, would there be any problems creating a pack that included some models from Oolite to replace the old models used in FFED3D? Are there any redistribution limits for Oolite's assets?

I notice it's free and open source, but I didn't want to go ahead and try this without first making sure it was OK with the creators.

I'd be grateful for any information anyone can provide on this.

Cheers!

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13823
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by Cody »

Hi nanite2000 - I recognise your handle from SSC, and am aware of FFED3D. As for your query: I don't think there would be any problem - but being merely a dumb pilot, I am by no means an expert on such matters, and will defer to someone in authority (or someone more clued-up than I).

User avatar
aegidian
Master and Commander
Master and Commander
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 10:46 pm
Location: London UK
Contact:

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by aegidian »

You'll want to check the licenses for the particular ship models you want to use, but generally speaking they are free (as in both beer AND speech) to reuse. Go to it!
"The planet Rear is scourged by well-intentioned OXZs."

Oolite models and gear? click here!

User avatar
Geraldine
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Sunny Scotland. Anarchy System Tech Level 0 No Police Presence. Enter At Own Risk!

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by Geraldine »

You might also try contacting potsmoke66 over on the SSC. I know he created quite a few models for FFE3D before he turned his attention over to Pioneer when it still used LMR models. He may have some Elite ships in .X format but I wouldn't know for sure as he has been less active of late sadly. :cry:

Anyways, here is a link to his profile over there if you want to ask him:

http://spacesimcentral.com/ssc/user/122-potsmoke66/
Geraldine
Elite IV Is Released. Now Keeping The Faith in Oolite, Pioneer & FFE3D :D

nanite2000
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:44 pm

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by nanite2000 »

Thanks everyone!

I tried converting some of Griff's Oolite ships using Blender last night as a test. I successfully converted the Gecko and the Moray to the .X format used by FFED3D, but the game crashed as soon as it tried to load them.

:(

According to an old post on SSC from potsmoke66, the models must have at least 1 animation in order for FFED3D to use them.

Would I be right in saying that none of the Oolite models have any animations by default?

I'm not a 3D modeller, so I think I'm punching above my weight here... :cry:

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by Zireael »

I don't think we have any animated ships.

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by cim »

There are some with limited animations - subentities can be made to rotate. A few of the [wiki]Aquatics_OXP[/wiki] ships use this, as does the [wiki]Baakili_Far_Trader[/wiki] and the [wiki]Transhab_station[/wiki].

There's also some interesting ship animation going on in the [wiki]BuoyRepair[/wiki] OXP.

I've probably forgotten several others.

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by Thargoid »

There's also the serpents from [EliteWiki] Stellar Serpents OXP and the butterflies from my Butterlies demo OXP (if you count either as ships).

nanite2000
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:44 pm

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by nanite2000 »

Thanks for the input guys. I'll try converting one of the animated ships and see if it works.

I'll let you know how I get on...

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Use Oolite Ship Models in FFED3D

Post by Thargoid »

They're animated by Javascript (at least most of mine are, except the ones in Aquatics which are mainly just rotations), so unless the whole underlying structure is the same (which is very doubtful) there will need to be a whole lot of conversion or adaption of the scripting too.

Post Reply