Size of pics for screen shots thread

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Post Reply
User avatar
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Oz. The land of some gold but mostly rust

Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Alex »

What sort of size should a pic be for the screen shot thread?
Meg bites?
pix dimension?
I've not tried to posted a picture in years. Tried being the operative word.

Only just figured how to get my cloud storage working again, well forgot details for access, so started a new one.
My avatar comes from far far away in a distant forgotten Ooniverse.
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2650
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by phkb »

Not sure about size, but x dimension should be less than 900px.

User avatar
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Oz. The land of some gold but mostly rust

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Alex »

Thanks phkb

Next Q.
Got this warning
"It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image."
How do I sort that?
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Lost in space
Contact:

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Smivs »

I normally limit images to a max of 750px wide so they fit on smaller screens more easily.
If you want to offer a larger image, you can use a small version as a link to the full size one. I often use 500px wide as they look pretty good anyway at that size. Upload both images then use the following code in your post

Code: Select all

[url= 'url of full size image' ][img] 'url of small image' [/img][/url]
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2560
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Norby »

Alex wrote:"It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image."
This board limit the images in img tag to 1000x800 pixels (file size is not limited), so before accept a post it download the image and determine the dimensions (and refuse if too large). You can get this message if the url is wrong or the file is damaged.

If you are lucky then the problem temporary, but if you tried again without success then paste the url into a new browser window to verify the image with your eyes. At last resort paste the url here as text and probably somebody will check it.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5599
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by another_commander »

Alex wrote:Next Q.
Got this warning
"It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image."
How do I sort that?
Don't know if this will help, but if you are using cloud storage like google drive or something like that, make sure that the snapshot file you are trying to view here has been set to shared status.

User avatar
spud42
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:11 am
Location: Brisbane,Australia

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by spud42 »

Alex wrote:Thanks phkb

Next Q.
Got this warning
"It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image."
How do I sort that?
Windows? right click on picture file. select properties, on the popup window select details tab. under image it should have pixel dimensions of the file.

i use good old MSpaint. load file then do a resize... change x to 1000 then y should auto scale to aspect ratio. save as... then i use tiny pic to upload as it gives you a link to the uploaded file for use on bbs...etc.. then just paste the link into post.
Arthur: OK. Leave this to me. I'm British. I know how to queue.
OR i could go with
Arthur Dent: I always said there was something fundamentally wrong with the universe.
or simply
42

User avatar
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Oz. The land of some gold but mostly rust

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Alex »

The picture is 720 X 540
So can't see that as being my finger problem
I ues Box as cloud storage mainly coz I've down loaded quite a few oxp's from there.
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!

User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Wildeblood »

Alex wrote:I ues Box as cloud storage mainly coz I've down loaded quite a few oxp's from there.
Box did not used to allow direct linking to images, has that changed or were you just being hopeful?
Just because it's on my mind at the moment, I'm going to recommend Twitter for uploading photos. If you can see the roadrunner below then they allow direct linking to photos...

Image
Last edited by Wildeblood on Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2560
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Norby »

Box.com is pretty good in hiding uploaded contents, I tried but can not include an image here even it is shared. Please upload it to another storage like postimage.org and use the direct link here.

User avatar
Selezen
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2512
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:14 am
Location: Tionisla
Contact:

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Selezen »

I set this up ages ago for people to use if they were struggling to find image hosting.

http://daftworks.co.uk/oomages/

You're all still very welcome to use it.

:-)

User avatar
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Oz. The land of some gold but mostly rust

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Alex »

My avatar image comes from an old 'box' account. It still works? Unless my avatar isn't showing on your screens?
I forgot the details to access it so opened a new one.
As with all TDM stuff, 'developers' keep changing it. Not always for the better.
Thinking about it, My avatar is about the only thing I've ever uploaded successfully to be used on another site.

See http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=17756

About my 'upload' ability

Ooo that worked!
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!

User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Wildeblood »

The avatar was only uploaded once from the external site and is now cached on this phpBB site. Only "gravatars" are loaded from an external site.

User avatar
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Oz. The land of some gold but mostly rust

Re: Size of pics for screen shots thread

Post by Alex »

Ahh. So Box is probably the problem.
Will look at some of the other cloud sites suggested.
See which one is least susceptible to my brand of finger problems
Thanks all
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!

Post Reply