Oolite at 4K resolution

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13678
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Progress

Post by Cody » Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:12 am

Copy and paste works - both for oxps and oxzs. If the latter, you may need to create their folder (installing just one oxz via the manager will do that).

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3033
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: Progress

Post by pagroove » Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:19 am

Cody wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:48 pm
What refresh rate are you using, Pag? I have a feeling some 4k monitors only do max resolution @60Hz (and require Display Port).*



*I could well be wrong - monitor specs confuse me these days, and I've perused oodles of them lately.

My GTX1070 is connected via HDMI to my to the HDMI 1 input of my monitor. On the tech specs page of my monitor it says: PC (HDMI) 3840 x 2160 @ 60Hz.
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by another_commander » Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:31 am

pagroove, check this page here: http://www.pcgamer.com/4k-monitor-2014/3/

Do your have all the right cabling etc? HDMI 2.0 or DisplayPort 1.2 is needed for 4K 60Hz .

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by another_commander » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:01 am

Given this discussion its own thread. Better not load the Progress thread with unrelated discussions, which make finding actual progress information more difficult.

Bogatyr
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am

Re: Progress

Post by Bogatyr » Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:45 pm

another_commander wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:55 am
Bogatyr wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:48 am
I have (I believe) a high DPI Samsung laptop running windows 10 and oolite 1.84 and I consistently get in fullscreen in many resolutions where the bottom line is (where the time is and the current selected equipment) not visible. The list of full-screen resolutions the game offers does not seem to match the list of display sizes the os shows
This is due to the lack of high-DPI support in 1.84. Try 1.85 and it should be working fine.
I tried 1.85, and while the screens were not clipped, the game still did not offer the desktop resolution of 3840x2160 as a full-screen resolution. Also, upon exit the game did not restore the desktop's original resolution.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by another_commander » Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:56 pm

Quoting from a previous post:
Please try this:
- Edit logcontrol.plist by changing the lines

Code: Select all

display.initGL =  no;
display.mode.list =  no;
to

Code: Select all

display.initGL =  yes;
display.mode.list =  yes;
- Start the game, then exit it and post the Latest.log here.
Bogatyr, can you please provide this information? Also please go to this link and let me know what it reports as screen resolution for you.

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3033
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by pagroove » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:41 pm

another_commander wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:31 am
pagroove, check this page here: http://www.pcgamer.com/4k-monitor-2014/3/

Do your have all the right cabling etc? HDMI 2.0 or DisplayPort 1.2 is needed for 4K 60Hz .
Yep I have the right cabling HDMI 2.0. I'm running Oolite on this monitor: http://www.lg.com/uk/monitors/lg-27UD58-B.
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

Bogatyr
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by Bogatyr » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:43 pm

another_commander wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:56 pm
Quoting from a previous post:
Please try this:
- Edit logcontrol.plist by changing the lines

Code: Select all

display.initGL =  no;
display.mode.list =  no;
to

Code: Select all

display.initGL =  yes;
display.mode.list =  yes;
- Start the game, then exit it and post the Latest.log here.
Bogatyr, can you please provide this information? Also please go to this link and let me know what it reports as screen resolution for you.
1536 × 864
Your Screen Resolution Pixel Ratio: x2.5
But advanced display options shows 3840x2160 (with "change the size of apps, etc. by" 250%, maybe that's confusing things....?)
p.s. how can I post the log file so that it's not inline in the message?

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3033
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by pagroove » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:45 pm

Ah yes. Bogathyr has exactly the same problem. It does not offer the resolution indeed. @ Another Commander: I try you tweaks tomorrow to see if that helps.
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13678
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by Cody » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:49 pm

Bogatyr wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:43 pm
...how can I post the log file so that it's not inline in the message?
C&P the log contents, then highlight it and hit the Code button (found above the message pane).

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by another_commander » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:07 pm

Guys, I think I may know what is going on. Stand by for 32 and 64 bit test build links soon.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by another_commander » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:15 pm

4K Test01 32 bit download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwG6R5 ... sp=sharing

4K Test01 64 bit download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwG6R5 ... sp=sharing

Just replace trunk's oolite.exe with the one above corresponding to your CPU architecture.

Bogatyr
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by Bogatyr » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:37 am

another_commander wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:15 pm
4K Test01 32 bit download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwG6R5 ... sp=sharing

4K Test01 64 bit download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwG6R5 ... sp=sharing

Just replace trunk's oolite.exe with the one above corresponding to your CPU architecture.
Here's the display portion of the log (hope I got it all), just in case you still need it

Code: Select all

00:32:25.034 [plist.parse.failed]: Failed to parse Resources/Config/logcontrol.plist as a property list.
Parse failed at line 1 (char 1) - extra data after parsed string
00:32:25.043 [display.initGL.dpiAwareness]: SetProcessDpiAwareness(PROCESS_PER_MONITOR_DPI_AWARE) loaded and executed
00:32:25.044 [sdl.init]: initialising SDL
00:32:25.162 [display.initGL]: V-Sync requested.
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: CREATING MODE LIST
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list.native]: Windows native resolution detected: 3840 x 2160
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 2560 x 2048
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 2560 x 1920
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 2560 x 1600
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 2048 x 1536
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 2048 x 1152
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1920 x 1440
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1920 x 1200
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1920 x 1080
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1856 x 1392
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1792 x 1344
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1680 x 1050
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1600 x 1200
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1600 x 900
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1440 x 900
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1400 x 1050
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1366 x 768
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1360 x 768
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1280 x 1024
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1280 x 960
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1280 x 800
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1280 x 768
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1280 x 720
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1280 x 600
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1152 x 864
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 1024 x 768
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 800 x 600
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 640 x 480
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 640 x 400
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 512 x 384
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 400 x 300
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 320 x 240
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.list]: Added res 320 x 200
00:32:25.163 [display.mode.found]: Found mode {Height = 1080; RefreshRate = 0; Width = 1920; }
00:32:25.163 [display.initGL]: Trying 32-bit depth buffer
00:32:25.205 [display.initGL]: ----- WARNING: Could not enable V-Sync. Please check that your graphics driver supports the WGL_EXT_swap_control extension.
00:32:25.273 [joystick.init]: Number of joysticks detected: 0
00:32:25.273 [rendering.opengl.version]: OpenGL renderer version: 4.4.0 ("4.4.0 - Build 21.20.16.4565"). Vendor: "Intel". Renderer: "Intel(R) HD Graphics 530".
00:32:25.273 [rendering.opengl.extensions]: OpenGL extensions (211):
GL_ARB_draw_instanced, GL_ARB_occlusion_query, GL_EXT_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_texture_storage, GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3, GL_ARB_sync, GL_AMD_vertex_shader_viewport_index, GL_ARB_texture_multisample, GL_ARB_buffer_storage, GL_ARB_explicit_uniform_location, GL_ARB_point_parameters, GL_ARB_vertex_array_object, GL_ARB_blend_func_extended, GL_ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture, GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate, GL_ARB_compressed_texture_pixel_storage, GL_ARB_texture_stencil8, GL_EXT_texture_snorm, GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two, GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_ARB_debug_output, GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays, GL_ARB_timer_query, GL_ARB_texture_buffer_range, GL_ARB_clip_control, GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_ARB_vertex_program, GL_ARB_draw_buffers_blend, GL_ARB_viewport_array, GL_ARB_shadow, GL_ARB_shader_atomic_counters, GL_ARB_cl_event, GL_NV_primitive_restart, GL_EXT_framebuffer_object, GL_EXT_texture_sRGB, GL_3DFX_texture_compression_FXT1, GL_ARB_shader_storage_buffer_object, GL_ARB_conservative_depth, GL_ARB_get_program_binary, GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_clear_texture, GL_ARB_shader_image_size, GL_SUN_multi_draw_arrays, GL_ARB_shader_objects, GL_EXT_blend_func_separate, GL_EXT_bgra, GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object, GL_ARB_vertex_attrib_64bit, GL_ARB_draw_buffers, GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar, GL_ARB_fragment_shader, GL_EXT_texture_swizzle, GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit, GL_ARB_texture_compression_rgtc, GL_EXT_transform_feedback, GL_ARB_sample_shading, GL_ARB_seamless_cube_map, GL_WIN_swap_hint, GL_EXT_texture_shared_exponent, GL_ARB_shading_language_420pack, GL_AMD_depth_clamp_separate, GL_ARB_shader_subroutine, GL_ARB_fragment_shader_interlock, GL_EXT_geometry_shader4, GL_EXT_direct_state_access, GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array, GL_KHR_debug, GL_ARB_copy_image, GL_ARB_shader_image_load_store, GL_EXT_texture_storage, GL_EXT_separate_specular_color, GL_ARB_vertex_type_2_10_10_10_rev, GL_ARB_shading_language_100, GL_EXT_shader_framebuffer_fetch, GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_ARB_texture_float, GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil, GL_ARB_texture_swizzle, GL_ARB_half_float_pixel, GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc, GL_ARB_occlusion_query2, GL_ARB_texture_rgb10_a2ui, GL_SGIS_texture_lod, GL_ARB_geometry_shader4, GL_ARB_derivative_control, GL_ARB_framebuffer_object, GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_EXT_stencil_two_side, GL_ARB_texture_rg, GL_INTEL_map_texture, GL_ARB_color_buffer_float, GL_EXT_blend_color, GL_EXT_texture_rectangle, GL_ARB_vertex_array_bgra, GL_EXT_texture_integer, GL_EXT_texture_array, GL_ARB_base_instance, GL_ARB_shading_language_packing, GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow, GL_ARB_fragment_layer_viewport, GL_ARB_map_buffer_range, GL_ARB_fragment_program, GL_ARB_copy_buffer, GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint, GL_ARB_tessellation_shader, GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic, GL_EXT_draw_buffers2, GL_EXT_secondary_color, GL_ARB_transform_feedback2, GL_KHR_texture_compression_astc_ldr, GL_ARB_transform_feedback3, GL_ARB_ES3_compatibility, GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample, GL_ARB_window_pos, GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_vertex_shader, GL_ARB_texture_compression_bptc, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_ARB_compatibility, GL_EXT_packed_float, GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_explicit_attrib_location, GL_NV_blend_square, GL_ARB_internalformat_query, GL_EXT_texture3D, GL_ARB_arrays_of_arrays, GL_ARB_robust_buffer_access_behavior, GL_ARB_ES2_compatibility, GL_ARB_texture_query_lod, GL_INTEL_conservative_rasterization, GL_ARB_invalidate_subdata, GL_INTEL_multi_rate_fragment_shader, GL_EXT_texture_sRGB_decode, GL_ARB_texture_compression, GL_ARB_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_provoking_vertex, GL_ARB_framebuffer_no_attachments, GL_EXT_gpu_shader4, GL_ARB_texture_rectangle, GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_ARB_multi_draw_indirect, GL_ARB_draw_elements_base_vertex, GL_ARB_fragment_coord_conventions, GL_ARB_shader_stencil_export, GL_ARB_separate_shader_objects, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, GL_ARB_vertex_attrib_binding, GL_ARB_clear_buffer_object, GL_ARB_query_buffer_object, GL_ARB_vertex_type_10f_11f_11f_rev, GL_ARB_robustness, GL_ARB_point_sprite, GL_INTEL_performance_query, GL_ARB_texture_gather, GL_ARB_texture_buffer_object_rgb32, GL_ARB_internalformat_query2, GL_ARB_depth_texture, GL_ARB_instanced_arrays, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_ARB_robustness_isolation, GL_ARB_compute_shader, GL_AMD_vertex_shader_layer, GL_ARB_enhanced_layouts, GL_INTEL_fragment_shader_ordering, GL_ARB_multi_bind, GL_KHR_blend_equation_advanced_coherent, GL_ARB_framebuffer_sRGB, GL_EXT_shader_integer_mix, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_EXT_draw_range_elements, GL_ARB_texture_mirror_clamp_to_edge, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map_array, GL_ARB_post_depth_coverage, GL_ARB_sampler_objects, GL_ARB_half_float_vertex, GL_ARB_shader_precision, GL_ARB_gpu_shader5, GL_ARB_depth_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_storage_multisample, GL_KHR_texture_compression_astc_hdr, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object, GL_ARB_texture_query_levels, GL_ARB_texture_barrier, GL_ARB_draw_indirect, GL_ARB_transform_feedback_instanced, GL_ARB_texture_view, GL_EXT_polygon_offset_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_indirect_parameters, GL_KHR_blend_equation_advanced, GL_ARB_shader_bit_encoding, GL_EXT_timer_query, GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters, GL_ARB_program_interface_query, GL_ARB_uniform_buffer_object, GL_ARB_multisample, GL_EXT_shadow_funcs, GL_ARB_stencil_texturing, GL_ARB_depth_buffer_float, GL_ARB_map_buffer_alignment, GL_ARB_gpu_shader_fp64, GL_EXT_stencil_wrap, GL_ATI_separate_stencil, GL_INTEL_framebuffer_CMAA
00:32:25.410 [script.javaScript.willLoad]: About to load JavaScript Resources/Scripts/oolite-global-prefix.js
  00:32:25.410 [script.javaScript.load.success]: Loaded JavaScript: oolite-global-prefix 1.85 -- (no description)
00:32:25.410 [script.javaScript.init.success]: Set up JavaScript context.
00:32:25.411 [rendering.opengl.shader.support]: Shaders are supported.
00:32:25.411 [speech.synthesis]: Spoken messages are off.


Bogatyr
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by Bogatyr » Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:08 am

another_commander wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:15 pm
4K Test01 32 bit download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwG6R5 ... sp=sharing

4K Test01 64 bit download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwG6R5 ... sp=sharing

Just replace trunk's oolite.exe with the one above corresponding to your CPU architecture.
I replaced the oolite.exe in the trunk installation but the exe would not start (did not even touch the log file)

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite at 4K resolution

Post by another_commander » Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:19 am

Can anyone please confirm that the 64-bit exe runs on their system? I can only confirm the 32-bit one from my side. Thank you.

Post Reply