Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:51 pm

Where does the escape pods go, when they`re released from the cargo bay? I`ve took the Slaves cargo from the dead pirates, then released them. Then i saw one cargopod with them and one escape pod heading somewhere (not towards the station BTW). And is there a way to save the slaves from the cargopods in core game?

And What can i do with such kind of ships, when the pirate ejected in escape pod and the ship just standing still in space? Board it somehow or just to kill?

Image

User avatar
CaptSolo
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:08 pm
Location: Hermit's Pipe
Contact:

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by CaptSolo » Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:11 pm

Amon2501 wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:51 pm
Where does the escape pods go, when they`re released from the cargo bay? I`ve took the Slaves cargo from the dead pirates, then released them. Then i saw one cargopod with them and one escape pod heading somewhere...
Escape pods are not released from the cargo bay. But when you scoop cargo pods they will occasionally contain slaves. You cannot release slaves from cargo pods, you can only sell them at a station. When a pirate or other NPC ejects from their ship their escape capsule may head for the main station or some other station such as a Rock Hermit.
What can i do with such kind of ships, when the pirate ejected in escape pod and the ship just standing still in space? Board it somehow or just to kill?
You cannot board ships unless someone has written an OXP that allows that. Otherwise you can either destroy it or leave it be.

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:15 am

Thanks for the answers. One last question: today i`ve ran that 'oolite-update' linux program although it said that "your version is up to date", it seems like something was downloaded too. How can i check that my version of the game is stable and not the "nightly build" now?

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13636
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Cody » Sun Dec 16, 2018 2:02 am

The nightly build should have a watermarked version number at top right, as in these pics.

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:11 pm

It seems everything is ok with the game version then.

Today i have entered the system and been attacked by a pirates saying "You took the wrong customer" like they says when you are carrying some cargo or parcel. But i Didnt. I`ve already transfered that parcel to it`s destination earlier. Well the more pirates the more kills and loot, but wasnt that a glitch somehow?

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13636
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Cody » Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:20 pm

Some types of parcel attract the attention of assassins, and some of them have long memories. Even after delivery, you may still be hunted.

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:51 pm

Could you please explain me the Advanced Navigation Array`s logic? If i press it once (BTW that was a BAD idea to put it on the map key, but with the shift) it says for example: 6 jumps with a 96 hours for travel. But when i press the "shortest time", then it shows me a 9 jumps instead of 6 but now the travel time decreases. How could it be: more jumps but for the less time? Does it considers that i`ll also need to refuel my ship between the jumps? Therefore i need to reach the station, dock it and then refuelling takes a time too. Or how does it "thinks" while planning the route?

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13636
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Cody » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:21 am

It's a quirk of hyperspace: travel time is the square of the distance, so a 4ly jump takes 16 hours, but a 2ly jump only takes 4 hours.
So two short jumps in the same general direction are quicker than one long jump. I hope that makes sense! <grins>

Quoted travel times are purely time spent in hyperspace - time spent in-system is extra.

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:50 am

But of course i want to trade some goods and maybe to kill some pirates on my way to deliver the parcel. Otherwise the parcel delivery fares wont even buy me the fuel spent on the jumps. Is it safe to trust that ANA in that case?

User avatar
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: Carter's Snort

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Disembodied » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:12 pm

Amon2501 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:50 am
But of course i want to trade some goods and maybe to kill some pirates on my way to deliver the parcel. Otherwise the parcel delivery fares wont even buy me the fuel spent on the jumps. Is it safe to trust that ANA in that case?
It’s an estimate, not a promise - but generally speaking, the bulk of the time in any journey is spent in hyperspace. As a player, you won't notice this, but the game clock will wind forward several hours when you make a jump (it will take nearly 48 hours of game time, for example, to make the longest possible single jump).

Fitting new equipment and making repairs will also wind on the game clock (generally, the more expensive the item is, the longer it takes to fit and/or repair): even refuelling takes a few minutes.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13636
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Cody » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:17 pm

What he said - and parcel contracts start to pay more as your courier rep improves. They can become quite lucrative (see thumbnail), but you'll find yourself fighting more (and tougher) assassins along the way.

Image

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:13 pm

Can i save the route to the particular system without the need to re-assign it every time i looked the next system`s info? That`s really annoying.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2403
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by phkb » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:20 pm

Once your route destination is set, on the F7 screen, you can use the left and right arrow keys to move through all the systems on your current route, to see the system info for each.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13636
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Cody » Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:03 pm

A useful addition to the ANA is the [EliteWiki] Display Current Course OXZ.

Amon2501
Competent
Competent
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 am

Re: Oolite FAQ - New Forum Members Please Read......

Post by Amon2501 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:34 pm

And what`s the use of the escape pods for the player himself? If something goes wrong i can always just to load a saved game, and afaik there is no permadeath mode.

Post Reply