Repair damaged cloaking device

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
Mikkail
Average
Average
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Repair damaged cloaking device

Post by Mikkail » Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:54 am

Greetings, all.

After a rather intense scrap with some pirates (sadly missed by their next-of-kin), I noticed my cloaking device had vanished from the equipment list. Either (a) it was damaged, and needed repairing, like eg, fuel scoops, or (b) it was gone - possibly forever.

So off I wander to an industrial planet - no option to repair. Maybe not high enough tech level. Find a tech 14 world, no option to repair.

I'm trying to play more or less the original, so reluctant as I was, I examined my saved game file - sure enough, <key>EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE_DAMAGED</key> <true/>.

So, my question is, what do I need to do to get it working again, without editing the file?

Any help appreciated!
The fact that no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist.

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern » Mon Aug 06, 2007 4:38 pm

This problem has come up in discussion before. I tried searching, but couldn't find the thread.

Anyway, as memory serves, the cloaking device is one of those few bits of kit that the shipyards have no facilities to repair.

I'm afraid that you have no recourse but to hack your savefile and do a 'shadetree repair job'. Make a backup of the file first, of course.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

User avatar
Mikkail
Average
Average
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Post by Mikkail » Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:20 pm

Many thanks, Cmdr Wyvern - I could'nt find any reference to it, either. Oh, well, guess I'll just have to pretend I met a friendly hi-tech mechanic in deep space somewhere :wink:
The fact that no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist.

User avatar
LittleBear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: I escaped The Labyrinth with the assistance of my fledgling. After many battles, I'm in the Nexus.

Post by LittleBear » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:15 pm

A Bug / Feature (OK its a bug) in the code of the Assassins.oxp will mean that if you've joined the Assassins Guild then a damaged cloaking device will be repaired as long as you'd won it in the first place. (hey maybe the Guild issue nano-bots to Brothers to fix their busted cloaks! :wink: ). I will be fixing this for the V1.3 realease, unless people think I should just add an explantion in the mission text and make it a feature that Brothers of the Guild can get their broken cloaks fixed?
My OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits and Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.

User avatar
TGHC
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:35 pm

It seems wrong that the cloaking device cannot be repaired, why not an OXP just for the purpose (guess who's a cheeky old git)
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:45 pm

LittleBear wrote:A Bug / Feature (OK its a bug) in the code of the Assassins.oxp will mean that if you've joined the Assassins Guild then a damaged cloaking device will be repaired as long as you'd won it in the first place. (hey maybe the Guild issue nano-bots to Brothers to fix their busted cloaks! :wink: ). I will be fixing this for the V1.3 realease, unless people think I should just add an explantion in the mission text and make it a feature that Brothers of the Guild can get their broken cloaks fixed?
An expansion on that idea, LB...

An R3 series Emergency Repair Droid, one of those otherwise reserved military technolegies. Capable of limited repair of most ship's systems, and with AI smart enough to figure out captured (or otherwise obtained) experimental/alien tech, such as the cloak and NEU.

Considering the Guild's influence, they have the secret Naval tech, and are willing to share...for a (fair?) price. :)
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

User avatar
LittleBear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: I escaped The Labyrinth with the assistance of my fledgling. After many battles, I'm in the Nexus.

Post by LittleBear » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:58 pm

Hhm, the magically repaired cloaking device, arrises as the Mark Transponder Scanner disables the Cloak whilst it is locking on to a Mark, then comes back on line again when the Mark is dead or the player and the Mark are no longer in the same system. I hadn't figured on the player having the cloak, but got it damaged. So if you have a cloak it won't work when a mark is in range, but you can use it again when he's dead. Trouble is if you had the cloak but it was damaged, you get it back when he's dead.

I'd done this by removing and awarding the cloak if the player had it in the first place. The better way to do it would be by doing a test for equipment cloak and then set a mission variable, when the player joins the Guild. The mission variable could then be used to allow the cloak to be repaired in a (say) tech 13+ shipyard, if the player is already a Member of the Guild and had got the cloak in the first place.
My OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits and Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern » Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:15 pm

I don't know if you downloaded the Dragon oxp, but if you have, check the readme. :wink:

That's why I tossed out the silly idea of the droid.

BTW, the oxp includes a spare dat file and unpainted texture, incase someone wanted to make their own custom ride. I can see a Guild Brother unleashing such a vicious beast on the unwary... (hint hint)
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

User avatar
LittleBear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: I escaped The Labyrinth with the assistance of my fledgling. After many battles, I'm in the Nexus.

Post by LittleBear » Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:29 pm

Well the Triad boss is flying a uber version of Paladin, but we could put him in the new uber version of the Dragon! Could you mabey e-mail me a pic of the Dragon in 512 x 512 format?

I'm

richard.cobraiiiSPAM@blueyonder.co.uk

Take the lunchen meat out of the e-mail and thats my address!
My OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits and Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern » Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:40 pm

LittleBear wrote:Well the Triad boss is flying a uber version of Paladin, but we could put him in the new uber version of the Dragon! Could you mabey e-mail me a pic of the Dragon in 512 x 512 format?

I'm

richard.cobraiiiSPAM@blueyonder.co.uk

Take the lunchen meat out of the e-mail and thats my address!
The pic is in the mail. :D
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane » Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:54 am

The problem with making the cloaking device repairable on high TL-stations is that at the same time you make it available for purchasing as well.

The best thing IMO would be to make a small addition to the original mission script, contained within Oolite. In the old scripting system it would be parallel to the last condition in thargoid plans:

Code: Select all

        {
            conditions = (
                "mission_cloak equal COMPLETE",
                "mission_TL_FOR_EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE undefined"
            );
            do = ("set: mission_TL_FOR_EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE 13");
        }
Actually it would be better to insert a testForEquipment into the do-part, as the cloaking device could be spawned but not scooped.

Ahruman has, however, already translated the cloaking device mission into the JS-syntax. So we have to ask him to incorporate this addition.

The result would be to make the cloaking device repairable in hightech systems (13+ if I'm right, AFAIK equipment can be repaired one TL below the purchasing level), and available in 14+ systems, but only if the player already has it. So no purchasing as long as the mission is not completed.

Ahruman, could you do that?

User avatar
TGHC
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:22 pm

Might be a daft question but what if it was made available at 1 higher than the max TL level ie 16 so that it could then be repaired at a TL 15, but not be able to be purchased. I suspect that TL levels are hard wired, on which case could a TL16 planet be added.
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:35 pm

TL 15 planets are too rare. There are a couple of galaxies without any.

User avatar
Cmdr. Maegil
Sword-toting nut-job
Sword-toting nut-job
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:28 pm
Location: On the mend in Western Africa

Post by Cmdr. Maegil » Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:20 pm

Wich is more of a reason to make it so - the cloaking device is a state-of-the -art piece of military equipament, not available for the public. Therefore, it makes sense that only top tech shipyards would have engeneering departaments advanced enough to repair the devices.
You know those who, having been mugged and stabbed, fired, dog run over, house burned down, wife eloped with best friend, daughters becoming prostitutes and their countries invaded - still say that "all is well"?
I'm obviously not one of them.

User avatar
TGHC
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC » Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:36 pm

In which case sometimes you will have to travel a long way to get repairs, all part of Oolite's rich environment. Just consider yourself unlucky
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"

Post Reply