Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:28 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 433
Location: California
Hi,

I loaded Anarchies, got myself an offender status, but I still can't find a hacker outpost. I found a salvage yard, but no hacker outpost on the anarchy planet, Raoror in Galaxy 1 up from the Old Worlds, Right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)

I came upon a Hacker Viper, he shot at me, I returned fire, He said "Please stop" and flew off in a direction, I followed figuring he would lead me to a Hacker outpost, but for the last 20 minutes we hav ebeen going nowhere in particular together.
Anyone have any help ?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:33 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Hacker outposts are pretty rare, but they should show up on your advanced compass. Had you not attacked that viper (probably not the best way to make friends, really) you would probably have seen the same message shown on one of the two screenshots on this page:

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Hacker_Outpost

Hope this helps.

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:46 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 433
Location: California
Thanks you the info.
In my defense, he came out guns blazing at me first and I simply returned fire.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:51 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 433
Location: California
A HA!

H does mark the Hacker Outpost, but the "H" doesn't appear out the Compass until you harrass him a bit and he gives the info in return for you not turning him into dust. Very sneaky coding.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:01 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
So it does look like hitting people is the best way of making friends after all! I'm sure there's a lesson for us all there! :D

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:44 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Do you always stop the first time when somebody begs you "please stop"? :wink: That is of course very kind of you, but won't help you to find a Hacker Outpost.

So, as you found out now, you have to tease him a little bit more. You wouldn't expect a henchman to give away his secrets after the first blow, would you? Just don't kill him before you have your information. Afterwards you are free to do with him as you please, of course. :twisted:

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:19 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 433
Location: California
I stopped and followed when he said "I have some information", because I figured that was where he was leading me. and then I followed him for quite some time. (Enough time, to get bored, launch firefox, and start this thread, read the first response and get an idea)

I have yet to get bribed by a Galcop Official.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:42 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Quote:
I have yet to get bribed by a Galcop Official.
That would be a nice idea as well, but actually you have to bribe the official. :wink:

You have to visit the equipment department in a main station in an Anarchy system while being offender or fugitive, in order to meet a corrupt official. And you won't meet one every time, but there is only a small chance.

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:06 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 433
Location: California
And their bribes are expensive! and they have a very bad attitude when you try and haggle down.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:12 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Quote:
And their bribes are expensive! and they have a very bad attitude when you try and haggle down.
Depends. Sometimes they agree and let you get off cheaper. Sometimes they don't and..., well, you'll find out...

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:44 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm
Posts: 191
Well, boy am I disappointed, I found my first hacker hideout.. I was looking to get a naval energy unit... all they had in stock was a cloaking device.. :lol: :shock:

Now you see me...

_________________
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:15 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:51 am
Posts: 249
Location: Don't look in your aft view...
Quote:
I was looking to get a naval energy unit... all they had in stock was a cloaking device..
You lucky git :)

Although I've been to hacker oputposts before, I've never seen the Cloak - and I haven't done that mission yet. Do you need to complete it for Cloaks to be offered? How much was it? Is it considered salvaged gear (don't want to touch that stuff any more)?

Thanks.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:21 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm
Posts: 191
Nope, I've not done the cloak mission. And it was 100,000 credits, and not considered salvaged. This was at a tech 9 anarchy tho. The higher tech of the system, the higher tech of the things offered I think.

_________________
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:27 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2991
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Quote:
right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)
By the way, WHAT????


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:05 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 433
Location: California
Quote:
Quote:
right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)
By the way, WHAT????
You missed the whole quote
Quote:
the anarchy planet, Raoror in Galaxy 1 up from the Old Worlds, Right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)
Raoror is Scooby Doo's home planet It's up from the Old Worlds and to the right of Cevage.
:lol:
It was funny when I was typing it at 1:30 am in any case.

Is Scooby Doo an international cartoon or just in the US?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scooby-Doo


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited