Looking for Hacker outpost

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Looking for Hacker outpost

Post by Chrisfs » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:28 am

Hi,

I loaded Anarchies, got myself an offender status, but I still can't find a hacker outpost. I found a salvage yard, but no hacker outpost on the anarchy planet, Raoror in Galaxy 1 up from the Old Worlds, Right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)

I came upon a Hacker Viper, he shot at me, I returned fire, He said "Please stop" and flew off in a direction, I followed figuring he would lead me to a Hacker outpost, but for the last 20 minutes we hav ebeen going nowhere in particular together.
Anyone have any help ?

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:33 am

Hacker outposts are pretty rare, but they should show up on your advanced compass. Had you not attacked that viper (probably not the best way to make friends, really) you would probably have seen the same message shown on one of the two screenshots on this page:

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Hacker_Outpost

Hope this helps.
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Post by Chrisfs » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:46 am

Thanks you the info.
In my defense, he came out guns blazing at me first and I simply returned fire.

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Post by Chrisfs » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:51 am

A HA!

H does mark the Hacker Outpost, but the "H" doesn't appear out the Compass until you harrass him a bit and he gives the info in return for you not turning him into dust. Very sneaky coding.

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks » Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:01 am

So it does look like hitting people is the best way of making friends after all! I'm sure there's a lesson for us all there! :D
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:44 am

Do you always stop the first time when somebody begs you "please stop"? :wink: That is of course very kind of you, but won't help you to find a Hacker Outpost.

So, as you found out now, you have to tease him a little bit more. You wouldn't expect a henchman to give away his secrets after the first blow, would you? Just don't kill him before you have your information. Afterwards you are free to do with him as you please, of course. :twisted:

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Post by Chrisfs » Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:19 pm

I stopped and followed when he said "I have some information", because I figured that was where he was leading me. and then I followed him for quite some time. (Enough time, to get bored, launch firefox, and start this thread, read the first response and get an idea)

I have yet to get bribed by a Galcop Official.

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane » Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:42 am

Chrisfs wrote:I have yet to get bribed by a Galcop Official.
That would be a nice idea as well, but actually you have to bribe the official. :wink:

You have to visit the equipment department in a main station in an Anarchy system while being offender or fugitive, in order to meet a corrupt official. And you won't meet one every time, but there is only a small chance.

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Post by Chrisfs » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:06 pm

And their bribes are expensive! and they have a very bad attitude when you try and haggle down.

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:12 pm

Chrisfs wrote:And their bribes are expensive! and they have a very bad attitude when you try and haggle down.
Depends. Sometimes they agree and let you get off cheaper. Sometimes they don't and..., well, you'll find out...

User avatar
allikat
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by allikat » Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:44 pm

Well, boy am I disappointed, I found my first hacker hideout.. I was looking to get a naval energy unit... all they had in stock was a cloaking device.. :lol: :shock:

Now you see me...
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....

User avatar
Poro
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:51 am
Location: Don't look in your aft view...
Contact:

Post by Poro » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:15 pm

allikat wrote:I was looking to get a naval energy unit... all they had in stock was a cloaking device..
You lucky git :)

Although I've been to hacker oputposts before, I've never seen the Cloak - and I haven't done that mission yet. Do you need to complete it for Cloaks to be offered? How much was it? Is it considered salvaged gear (don't want to touch that stuff any more)?

Thanks.

User avatar
allikat
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by allikat » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:21 pm

Nope, I've not done the cloak mission. And it was 100,000 credits, and not considered salvaged. This was at a tech 9 anarchy tho. The higher tech of the system, the higher tech of the things offered I think.
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Looking for Hacker outpost

Post by JazHaz » Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:27 pm

Chrisfs wrote: right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)
By the way, WHAT????

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Re: Looking for Hacker outpost

Post by Chrisfs » Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:05 am

JazHaz wrote:
Chrisfs wrote: right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)
By the way, WHAT????
You missed the whole quote
the anarchy planet, Raoror in Galaxy 1 up from the Old Worlds, Right of Cevage (Scooby Doo's home planet....)
Raoror is Scooby Doo's home planet It's up from the Old Worlds and to the right of Cevage.
:lol:
It was funny when I was typing it at 1:30 am in any case.

Is Scooby Doo an international cartoon or just in the US?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scooby-Doo

Locked