Escape capsule "Insurance"

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Lost in space
Contact:

Escape capsule "Insurance"

Post by Smivs »

Hi All, does anybody know how 'comprehensive' the escape capsule insurance is? I have (amongst other things) a Navel Energy Unit (bought with the ship) and also a Cloaking Device, and was wondering if these items are replaced if I ever had to abandon ship.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5602
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

They are both replaced when you abandon ship. As a side note, you lose the cloaking device permanently if it gets damaged in battle.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Lost in space
Contact:

Post by Smivs »

"As a side note, you lose the cloaking device permanently if it gets damaged in battle."
Presumably if this does happen you're better off getting killed and going back to the previous 'save'?
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Cmdr James
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by Cmdr James »

Depends on which OXPs you have, what happened since your last save, and how much you consider it cheating :)

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

Or you could always eject the moment you notice the cloaking device is damaged. As it's in-game 'cheating', I don't think it's as 'bad' as using a previous save game. :P
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13856
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody »

Or like me, you could carry round a useless damaged cloaking device ad infinitum.
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools

User avatar
allikat
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by allikat »

And when your ship is replaced by the insurance, any equipment that's damaged at the point you eject, is replaced with damaged equipment again...
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern »

Give Thargy's Repair Bots oxp a test-drive. The bots can fix a broken cloak....sometimes. Otherwise it's resorting to cheat-hacking, reloading a save from before you broke the cloak, or the grin-n-bear method.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Post by Chrisfs »

El Viejo wrote:Or like me, you could carry round a useless damaged cloaking device ad infinitum.
You could decide to hack your save file and fix your cloaking device and deduct a suitable amount of money. It would be technically cheating, but it could be considered simulating the event you would like to happen.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5602
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

You can also edit the file oolite.app/Resources/Scripts/oolite-cloaking-device-pod.js and remove the comment tag (//) from the line that reads

Code: Select all

// EquipmentInfo.infoForKey("EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE").effectiveTechLevel = 14;
Shift-restart Oolite and you will be able to repair the device in TL 15 planets. But you must do this edit before acquiring the device for the first time, since the code in that script is executed only once, upon pick-up of the pod.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13856
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody »

another_commander wrote:But you must do this edit before acquiring the device for the first time, since the code in that script is executed only once, upon pick-up of the pod.
Just one of those things I wish I had known. I'll live with it.
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools

User avatar
Tivva
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:32 pm
Location: Right behind you in a cloaked Thargoid Warship prototype

Post by Tivva »

'Tis true. Thargy's repair bots can fix a damaged cloaking device. Sometimes not on the first attempt....
Is it considered cheating to re-load a save game file to save on buying multiple repair bots???

3rd time lucky- wey hey...
nice 1 T

User avatar
Zbond-Zbond
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:49 am
Location: Healesville, Australia

Post by Zbond-Zbond »

would it be cheating to re-load a saved game, after crashing, exploding, failing to dock etc., in any case then?

although as regards the cloaking device -- having forgotten what was going on since last scooping one on a BBC model "B" -- I did have to go much backwards to perform the same stunt on an iMac because I'd shot the thing or something and six months accrued wealth went straight down the gurgler :cry:

User avatar
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Oz. The land of some gold but mostly rust

Post by Alex »

I can't see how using the save file as cheating under any circumstances.
It is there for the simple reason that you can never complete an open ended game like oolite.
It also makes it easy to set your own difficulty level by simply having your own rule about where and when you allow your self to save. eg only every 20th planet. Or only at the end of each session.

I would recomend for any first time cmdr; At every planet. It can get very frustrating to have to start from the start every time like a silly platform type game, even though the encounters change each time.

RE; Cloaking device. I have one but have never thought to use it, seems to escape my mind when I get into battle. Not that sure which key activates it for that matter. 'o' I think??
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!

User avatar
allikat
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by allikat »

It's 0 as in nought, zero etc...
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....

Post Reply