Occasional random memory gobbling

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

User avatar
winston
Pirate
Pirate
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Port St. Mary, Isle of Man
Contact:

Post by winston »

It uses that much CPU when paused because the main loop is still running (it's not stopped waiting on select() - rather it's polling up to 100 times a second and going through the complete poll loop, even if the game objects aren't going anywhere fast).

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

The Mac version busy-waits when paused, too. Annoying on a variable-speed machine - my fan stays spun up when paused. This is what happens when you poll for input. ;-)

Kibbles
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:25 pm

Post by Kibbles »

It's happening quite a lot for me (linux 1.62-2).

I usually see it after big battles (when it's most annoying!), but I just had the same problem while fuel-scooping from the sun. I'd checked the memory usage not long before and it was fine.

The hyperspace trick worked, it actually deallocated all of the memory it had gobbled so far.

User avatar
winston
Pirate
Pirate
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Port St. Mary, Isle of Man
Contact:

Post by winston »

Sounds like the AI is the culprit, then. Well, that's my hunch (the AI is something which can cause memory allocation to happen - obviously it's not a classic memory leak since the memory does get freed when you hyperspace). But hyperspacing away will clear the AI's state.

User avatar
TedJ
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 3:18 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by TedJ »

Does the AI state remain after docking? I've had at least one occasion where this glitch has occured while docked.

Perhaps I'm seeing this problem more often because I only have 256mb on my machine at the moment... but then again I've been running ut2004 without these problems. :?

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

TedJ wrote:Does the AI state remain after docking? I've had at least one occasion where this glitch has occured while docked.
Yes. When you’re docked the simulation is still running and other ships are flying about out there.

User avatar
TedJ
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 3:18 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by TedJ »

Ahruman wrote:
TedJ wrote:Does the AI state remain after docking? I've had at least one occasion where this glitch has occured while docked.
Yes. When you’re docked the simulation is still running and other ships are flying about out there.
What?!? You mean when I hide under the blankets they DON'T go away? Waah!!! :shock:

User avatar
Selezen
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2512
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:14 am
Location: Tionisla
Contact:

Post by Selezen »

I think this is what makes Oolite cooler than the average bear - the fact that life goes on whilst you are in the docking bay.

It also saves a lot of time on relaunching, seeing as you are not having to reload the 3D universe everytime. It also makes it easier for the developer(s), since the universe carries on moving at its own rate, meaning that anything could be happening out there.

Post Reply