Docked HUDs OXP

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Post Reply
User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Docked HUDs OXP

Post by Wildeblood »

As I described a fortnight ago, here is my Docked HUDs OXP for anyone who might be interested.

http://wiki.alioth.net/img_auth.php/7/7 ... Ds_1.1.oxz

These are scripted HUDs only for use when docked, so you need to use them judiciously:
- If you don't have any HUD OXP and only use Oolite's default HUD, they'll just work without further ado.
- If you have a completely unscripted HUD, using a customized hud.plist file, they'll just work.
- If you have a HUD file with a name other than hud.plist then it must use a script, so you'll need to do some editing...

The relevant variable is worldScripts.Docked_HUDs.$flightHUD = "hud.plist" and there are two plausible ways to proceed: if you want Docked HUDs OXP to do the switching (when you launch your ship and need the in-flight HUD), set the name of your HUD file:-

Code: Select all

worldScripts.Docked_HUDs.$flightHUD = "MyReallyFancyHUD.plist"
-alternatively, if you want your script to do the switching, set it empty or null:-

Code: Select all

worldScripts.Docked_HUDs.$flightHUD = ""
(That is not reversible after the first launch, because the shipWillLaunchFromStation handler gets deleted if $flightHUD is empty.)

If you don't understand those instructions, I'm notoriously grouchy and that fellow over there looks eager to help.
Last edited by Wildeblood on Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Lost in space
Contact:

Re: Docked HUDs OXP

Post by Smivs »

Wildeblood wrote: If you don't understand those instructions, I'm notoriously grouchy and that fellow over there looks eager to help.
:lol:
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Docked HUDs OXP

Post by Wildeblood »

Smivs wrote: :lol:
Just to clarify, I consider the above instructions to be a heads-up and fair warning to the makers of HUD OXZs. I will, in due course*, add Docked HUDs to the OXZ manager and then the complaints will start to come in.

* "In due course" being a coy way of saying, "Why isn't the comm log showing up!?" :shock:

Addendum: new in version 1.1, I added eight (8) MFDs, so it doesn't switch off your MFDs and make you have to reset them after each launch, which version 1.0 was doing.
User avatar
Cholmondely
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
Posts: 681
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:00 am
Location: The Delightful Domains of Her Most Britannic Majesty
Contact:

Re: Docked HUDs OXP

Post by Cholmondely »

Can anybody explain - in English - what this OXP is supposed to do?

And is it still relevant for Oolite v.1.90?
Denizen of the Dark and Dismal Deserts of Digebiti.

Milo wrote Dancing the Gavotte
User avatar
Reval
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 3:14 am
Location: At home in the Xexedi Cluster, driving an FE Asp II, Laenina's Flux.

Re: Docked HUDs OXP

Post by Reval »

I used to have Docked HUD installed, but find I no longer need it with GETTER HUD, whose colour scheme is far less obtrusive than the standard one.

Essentially, Docked HUD suppresses most of the HUD's elements while docked.
Dor 'call me Grocer' Reval (a Xexedian Laver) was always considered a little backward.
commander_STyx2909
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:22 pm

Re: Docked HUDs OXP

Post by commander_STyx2909 »

And it is 1.90 compatible. I use it.
Asus K61ic, 4Gb RAM, Nvidia GT220M (1Gb VRAM), OpenGL renderer version: 3.3.0 ("3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.108").
Ubuntu 20.06. :mrgreen:
Post Reply