Display Current Course OXP

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Display Current Course OXP

Post by phkb »

This is a simple OXP, based on the suggestion here, which displays your current course on contract detail pages, enabling the player to see if their current course is similar to the course required by the contract.

Here's a screenshot example:

Image

Available via the download manager, or via this link: DisplayCurrentCourse.oxz

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by ffutures »

MANY thanks - just what I wanted.

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by ffutures »

This unfortunately seems to fail intermittently - sometimes it shows your preset route, sometimes it doesn't, and a couple of times it has shown the fast and slow routes to the cargo destination rather than the route actually set for the ship. I've no idea why.

One possibility - I just started the Thargoid Plans mission and these problems became apparent after that. Maybe it's interfering in some way?

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by phkb »

Thanks for that, ffutures. I'll take a look and get a fix out shortly.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by phkb »

ffutures, I've just uploaded a new version which, fingers-crossed, fixes the issue with routes not displaying sometimes or showing the wrong route. Let me know what you find.

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by ffutures »

Thanks - will do!

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by ffutures »

Lovely - working perfectly now.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by phkb »

Thanks, ffutures. That's great news!

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by ffutures »

Sorry, I spoke too soon, it's since done the "show both routes to a destination" thing when I was looking at parcel contracts.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by phkb »

OK, version 1.3 is out now which should, really really fix the issue with the player's current course not appearing sometimes.

User avatar
Day
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Location: Paris

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by Day »

Genius oxp!
I'll install it next time i play :p

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by ffutures »

phkb wrote:OK, version 1.3 is out now which should, really really fix the issue with the player's current course not appearing sometimes.
Looking good so far - I'll let you know if any problems show up.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by phkb »

Excellent. I'm pretty sure I nailed it, but you never can be sure. If you do hit a problem, try to make a note of the steps you went through (went to F6 screen, set course, changed route mode, went to F5, then to F4, opened Parcel contracts, etc etc, that sort of thing). That will really help me identify the root cause.

User avatar
Amah
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: aboard the Laenina Crowne - Yasen-N class space freighter
Contact:

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by Amah »

so far it seems to work fine, even on the RRS contract board. Thanks,phkb. Very useful!
Amah

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Display Current Course OXP

Post by Zireael »

The image in first post doesn't show up :(

Post Reply