Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:30 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2075
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
How easy it would be to make it have a bit more light
It would just involve editing the images being used for the backgrounds, and making them lighter.
Quote:
move the indications from the crosshair to the body of the hud
That would involve editing all the hud .plist files and moving everything to where you want it. The OXP has a few HUD plist files to change (these are switched based on different situations/states), and each plist itself could have individual items listed multiple times for different states (docked, red alert, etc). So, short answer, yes, but quite fiddly.

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:52 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 477
Hi all, thanks for all the feedback!
Quote:
How easy it would be to make it have a bit more light
That's not difficult at all, but I am completely happy with the darker HUD. If you would like to tweak it in your own copy, simply open all png files from the subfolder Images and which start with the word 'cockpit' and make them brighter in GIMP or in your prefered image editor.
Quote:
move the indications from the crosshair to the body of the hud....like the default hud
If you'd like to do that on your own copy, you will have to edit some of the .plist files in the folder Config. The files that define the default cockpit are DangerousHUD.plist and DangerousHUD_damaged.plist, the hauler cockpit is defined at DangerousHUD_hauler.plist and DangerousHUD_hauler_damaged.plist and the glass only cockpit is defined at DangerousHUD_glass.plist and DangerousHUD_glass_damaged.plist. The DangerousHUD_alt.plist defines the HUD layout when docket (e.g. showing the missiles in the bottom left).
Quote:
Never mind, got the manager to work.
Great to hear that, hope you will enjoy the HUD :) If you need any other help, please let me know.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:20 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Quote:
Hi all, thanks for all the feedback!
Quote:
How easy it would be to make it have a bit more light
That's not difficult at all, but I am completely happy with the darker HUD. If you would like to tweak it in your own copy, simply open all png files from the subfolder Images and which start with the word 'cockpit' and make them brighter in GIMP or in your prefered image editor.
Quote:
move the indications from the crosshair to the body of the hud....like the default hud
If you'd like to do that on your own copy, you will have to edit some of the .plist files in the folder Config. The files that define the default cockpit are DangerousHUD.plist and DangerousHUD_damaged.plist, the hauler cockpit is defined at DangerousHUD_hauler.plist and DangerousHUD_hauler_damaged.plist and the glass only cockpit is defined at DangerousHUD_glass.plist and DangerousHUD_glass_damaged.plist. The DangerousHUD_alt.plist defines the HUD layout when docket (e.g. showing the missiles in the bottom left).
Quote:
Never mind, got the manager to work.
Great to hear that, hope you will enjoy the HUD :) If you need any other help, please let me know.
Thanks a lot for the info...i will try..
EDIT: I made a small modification ....but at first when the clear area got gray ....i couldn't see anything...but the cockpit was there....then i loaded the cockpit to paint.net and deleted the "window"...but now the cockpit is gone....only the radar is shown...i faced this issue when i tried to install this expansion at first....i removed it...reinstalled it and finally it showed....but no is gone again...any info... am I missing any special keys...also the special modes like glass how do they get applied...
EDIT2: I tried the "hotkey" N but all i get is "No equipment can be primed."
My installation is corrupt....now is fixed...also on my TV the cockpit is much brighter...i will take some look on the indicators


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:52 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Posts: 208
Location: Texas
Not sure with the other colors, but the reason I went with the orange was cause it matched the cockpit highlights. I originally went with the blue but the HUD didn't match the orange highlights of the cockpit.
Not sure if that was in the fix list.

_________________
Creativity is a gift, use it well.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:10 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Well it seems that my original installation was fine...after i loaded some Expansion Packs the cockpit vanished again....tinkering with the HUD options..brought it back...(?)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:15 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 477
@tsgiannis could you post your Oolite log here so that we can investigate this? Please post the log of a session in which the problem happens. Also, some more info: which OS are you? Does this happen all the time or only sometimes? Can you reliable reproduce the issue? Can you post screenshots? Etc.

@BlackWolf Hmm, I am not sure I understand what you are talking about, the blue HUD shouldn't have anything orange on it, could you please post a screenshot of that? Are you perhaps installing more than one colour at the same time? If so, you should remove all colours except for your chosen one as they might conflict with each other. To see what is the correct thing to expect, see the screenshots on the first post of this thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:36 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Posts: 208
Location: Texas
I only have the orange installed.
I would post a screen shot but I only have my phone for a hotspot and data is low, end of the month.
When I first chose the ED HUD I tried the blue, but noticed the cockpit background images were highlighted with orange.
The highlights of the cockpits did match the HUD so I went with the orange HUD so it matched the highlights.
Can't explain it any better then that. lol
I haven't checked the new blue, so couldn't tell ya if it has changed.

_________________
Creativity is a gift, use it well.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:05 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 477
Quote:
I would post a screen shot but I only have my phone for a hotspot and data is low, end of the month.
No problems.
Quote:
The highlights of the cockpits did match the HUD so I went with the orange HUD so it matched the highlights.
Can't explain it any better then that. lol
Well, I'm trying my best here to understand your problem without a screenshot ;) But I think I might understand what you mean, you are possibly talking about the yellow/orange tint in the cockpit background image itself. If that's so, it has not changed. I never thought too much about it, in my mind the cockpit was always this dark brown but I do see what you are seeing. I will make some experiments and perhaps change the tint of each individual version on the next release.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:12 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am
Posts: 208
Location: Texas
Spot on, exactly what I was trying to get across.
I will look forward to a re-tinting, especially for the blue HUD.

_________________
Creativity is a gift, use it well.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:21 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Quote:
@tsgiannis could you post your Oolite log here so that we can investigate this? Please post the log of a session in which the problem happens. Also, some more info: which OS are you? Does this happen all the time or only sometimes? Can you reliable reproduce the issue? Can you post screenshots? Etc.
I guess this is what you seek:
JavaScript exception (DangerousHUD 1.8): TypeError: this.playerBoughtNewShip is not a function
If i start the game...choose the Elite Dangerous HUD...only the overlays are displayed..
If i start the game ...choose the Elite Dangerous HUD and then go the MFD setup and setup 2...then it's displayed just fine...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:57 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 477
@tsgiannis What version of Oolite are you running?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:28 am 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Quote:
@tsgiannis What version of Oolite are you running?
The Latest 1.86 x64


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:31 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2075
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
I guess this is what you seek:
Code:
JavaScript exception (DangerousHUD 1.8): TypeError: this.playerBoughtNewShip is not a function
Actually, could I ask for a bit more info? Can you post your entire latest.log file? I can see only one possible scenario in the code that could create that error, but I need a bit more info that I think the log file will provide.

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:09 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 477
@tsgiannis I have been speaking to phkb and it looks like he came up with a solution to your issue. I will be releasing a new version of this HUD shortly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:01 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 477
Version 1.9 is now available in the manager, here is the changelog:

- merging improvements made by phkb on his Xenon HUD (version 2.0.2).
- the hue of the cockpit now matches the colour variant.
- fixing the 'TypeError: this.playerBoughtNewShip is not a function' which would affect some users.

@tsgiannis: could you confirm if this new release solve your recent reported issue?

@BlackWolf: the green, blue and pink variants now have their background hue matching the variant colour, thanks for spotting this!

Image

Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ding and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited