Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Mon May 28, 2018 10:04 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 147 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
Don't mind old Coyote - he be a bit of a character! Arrr!

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:35 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
I extracted the oxz from the manager to my AddOns folder and tweaked the numbers. Happy with that, I removed the oxp for later, and re-installed 2.7 via the manager. Trawling along my route on F7 to the first system with rings, this happened*. After reloading the save, this happened - then this.

Something to do with saving? After each save, it adds another one. <scratches head> Or is it something I've done?



*At first it was two, then three, but I have no pics.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:51 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2057
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
No, not something you've done. The instructions I gave gsagostinho on how to add text were not clear enough (my fault). When adding text to planetary descriptions, it only needs to be done once, not with every game load. It shouldn't be how to fix though.

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:07 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
I wonder if This planet has a ring system might be preferable?

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:26 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 472
@Cody Thanks for the report, you are good at finding bugs! Excellent :D
Quote:
No, not something you've done. The instructions I gave gsagostinho on how to add text were not clear enough (my fault). When adding text to planetary descriptions, it only needs to be done once, not with every game load. It shouldn't be how to fix though.
You are very kind, phkb, but the mistake is completely mine. I thought that this.startUpComplete ran only one single time when the game loaded, but I was obviously wrong. Would you have some suggestion on a better way of tackling this? Is there some other function that only runs when the game starts?
Quote:
I wonder if This planet has a ring system might be preferable?
"This planet has rings" would be better than "This system has rings", agreed, but I wouldn't use the term "ring system", it would sound confusing since we speak of star systems already.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm
Posts: 579
"This planet is engaged" ;-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:50 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2468
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
this.startUpComplete ran only one single time when the game loaded, but I was obviously wrong.
Try this within the function:
Code:
delete this.startUpComplete;

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:16 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 472
Version 2.8 is available in the manager:

- changed description text to "This planet has rings."
- fixed a bug in which the description text appears many times (thanks Cody and Norby).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:04 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
After a quick test, I don't think the fix is working - could someone please check.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:41 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 472
Quote:
After a quick test, I don't think the fix is working - could someone please check.
Cody, could you please tell me what steps I need to do in order to reproduce it? I can't see the bug on my side. I tried loading a save file, then loading another one from the F2 screen inside a station, then I tried quitting to the main menu and loading another save file.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:41 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
Let's see if I can get this right: load game, install Rings 2.8 via manager, load commander, check F7 for next ringed planet on route - only one This planet has rings thingy. Go F2, quick save, go F2, reload the same commander, check F7 - now two thingies. Rinse and repeat - now three thingies.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:00 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 472
@Cody You are right, I see now what is happening. Apparently the changes to the description of planets gets saved in the save file...

I think that the only solution would then be to check if the description has the sub-string "This planet has rings." at any position (since another OXP might append something to the end of the description). Or can anyone see a more elegant solution than this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:21 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
Apparently the changes to the description of planets gets saved in the save file...
Yeah, I thought that might be the case. In a test save-file, I have 514 thingies in the scripted_planetinfo_overrides section.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:25 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 472
Hmm, I am afraid that your savefile will continue to have those repeated phrases regardless of any possible fix, sorry about that :( If you are on Linux, there are some very simple one liners you can use on terminal to clean a savefile, but I wouldn't know how to do the same on Windows or OS X.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:27 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13222
Location: Corke's Drift
<grins> That's why it's a 'test' save-file - disposable! Besides, I can simply rip that section out.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 147 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited