[Release] System Features: Rings

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:18 pm

Don't mind old Coyote - he be a bit of a character! Arrr!

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:35 pm

I extracted the oxz from the manager to my AddOns folder and tweaked the numbers. Happy with that, I removed the oxp for later, and re-installed 2.7 via the manager. Trawling along my route on F7 to the first system with rings, this happened*. After reloading the save, this happened - then this.

Something to do with saving? After each save, it adds another one. <scratches head> Or is it something I've done?



*At first it was two, then three, but I have no pics.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2313
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by phkb » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:51 am

No, not something you've done. The instructions I gave gsagostinho on how to add text were not clear enough (my fault). When adding text to planetary descriptions, it only needs to be done once, not with every game load. It shouldn't be how to fix though.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:07 am

I wonder if This planet has a ring system might be preferable?

User avatar
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by gsagostinho » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:26 pm

@Cody Thanks for the report, you are good at finding bugs! Excellent :D
phkb wrote: No, not something you've done. The instructions I gave gsagostinho on how to add text were not clear enough (my fault). When adding text to planetary descriptions, it only needs to be done once, not with every game load. It shouldn't be how to fix though.
You are very kind, phkb, but the mistake is completely mine. I thought that this.startUpComplete ran only one single time when the game loaded, but I was obviously wrong. Would you have some suggestion on a better way of tackling this? Is there some other function that only runs when the game starts?
Cody wrote: I wonder if This planet has a ring system might be preferable?
"This planet has rings" would be better than "This system has rings", agreed, but I wouldn't use the term "ring system", it would sound confusing since we speak of star systems already.

Astrobe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 584
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Astrobe » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:34 pm

"This planet is engaged" ;-)

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2542
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Norby » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:50 pm

gsagostinho wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:26 pm
this.startUpComplete ran only one single time when the game loaded, but I was obviously wrong.
Try this within the function:

Code: Select all

delete this.startUpComplete;

User avatar
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by gsagostinho » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:16 pm

Version 2.8 is available in the manager:

- changed description text to "This planet has rings."
- fixed a bug in which the description text appears many times (thanks Cody and Norby).

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:04 pm

After a quick test, I don't think the fix is working - could someone please check.

User avatar
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by gsagostinho » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:41 pm

Cody wrote: After a quick test, I don't think the fix is working - could someone please check.
Cody, could you please tell me what steps I need to do in order to reproduce it? I can't see the bug on my side. I tried loading a save file, then loading another one from the F2 screen inside a station, then I tried quitting to the main menu and loading another save file.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:41 pm

Let's see if I can get this right: load game, install Rings 2.8 via manager, load commander, check F7 for next ringed planet on route - only one This planet has rings thingy. Go F2, quick save, go F2, reload the same commander, check F7 - now two thingies. Rinse and repeat - now three thingies.

User avatar
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by gsagostinho » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:00 pm

@Cody You are right, I see now what is happening. Apparently the changes to the description of planets gets saved in the save file...

I think that the only solution would then be to check if the description has the sub-string "This planet has rings." at any position (since another OXP might append something to the end of the description). Or can anyone see a more elegant solution than this?

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:21 pm

gsagostinho wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:00 pm
Apparently the changes to the description of planets gets saved in the save file...
Yeah, I thought that might be the case. In a test save-file, I have 514 thingies in the scripted_planetinfo_overrides section.

User avatar
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by gsagostinho » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:25 pm

Hmm, I am afraid that your savefile will continue to have those repeated phrases regardless of any possible fix, sorry about that :( If you are on Linux, there are some very simple one liners you can use on terminal to clean a savefile, but I wouldn't know how to do the same on Windows or OS X.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [Release] System Features: Rings

Post by Cody » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:27 pm

<grins> That's why it's a 'test' save-file - disposable! Besides, I can simply rip that section out.

Post Reply