Ruining the classics (screenshot heavy thread)

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Charlie wrote:Um... The Mac version of Oolite: It will run on OSx86..?
Dunno. Never heard of “OSx86”. Oolite for Mac OS X, however, is a universal binary which should run on any Mac system with Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later.

User avatar
Charlie
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:33 pm

Post by Charlie »

@Uncle Reno:
Thanks :)

@Ahruman:
Sorry, me using too much shorthand:
OSX for x86 ie: Intel(ish)
Universal binary: PPC & x86 - good.., very good...

FWIW:
Thanks again to the devs etc for all their efforts.
I'm glad to see the two (main?) branches seem to be keeping pace.
Benulobiweed.inc
By Appointment to
--- : GalCoop : ---

Your nearest Benulobiweed.inc dealer:
http://www.box.net/public/b2tic3tjsk#main

Charlie

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

They aren’t branches any longer; the Mac and Windows versions are built from the same code.

User avatar
Griff
Oolite 2 Art Director
Oolite 2 Art Director
Posts: 2298
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Wales

Post by Griff »

Ahruman, i just tried oolite & the shady cobra & krait .oxps on a pc in work and it looked OK, in fact, it looked fantastic, no blueness in the textures at all, so it's a problem with my PC, probably the graphics card and it's drivers.
Works pc has an NVIDIA GeForce FX5200 graphics card and i've got an ATI Radeon9500pro, i wonder if this is something to with ATI's supposed half-assed openGL driver support and try a few earlier versions of the driver later this evening

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

It could be a driver problem. Or it could be Oolite or the shader relying on undefined behaviour (I’m also using a GeForce FX 5200).

User avatar
Star Gazer
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: North Norfolk, UK, (Average Agricultural, Feudal States,Tech Level 8)

Post by Star Gazer »

Damn! Something pretty wierd happens on the ATI 9600XL card, too - which is what my G5 has... :(

...each of the Kraits is different the upper surfaces on the last 2 are that distinct blue - it's 'almost' beautiful, if that were the intention...!! but the under surfaces are grey... :evil: , the first Krait is a paler grey-green on the upper surfaces... ... are they meant to look like that...?

I haven't played with the card settings, I'm currently running it with the Performance = 3, FSAA (Super) =4x, and Anisotropic Filtering = 2x - which is what I've used for some time with Oolite.
Very funny, Scotty, now beam down my clothes...

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

They should look like this (after adding “#define OOLITE_LIGHT_0_FIX” at the top of each shader ofr testing purposes):
Image
I’m reasonably sure this is my fault, not ATis, I just don’t know where the problem is. We need someone to learn to hack shaders on ATi hardware, or to buy me a machine with the problem. ;-)

User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2043
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Post by Killer Wolf »

this is looking some pretty exciting stuff. is anyone gonna do a helpful little FAQ/requirements/tutes thing about what kit/version we need and how to set up/test this glowy stuff?

User avatar
Wolfwood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:53 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by Wolfwood »

Otherwise a nice looking ship, but I cannot really see it as Krait... :?
Author of Tales from the Frontier - official Elite 4 anthology.
Author of Marcan Rayger adventures - unofficial fan-fic novellas set in the Frontier universe.

User avatar
Griff
Oolite 2 Art Director
Oolite 2 Art Director
Posts: 2298
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Wales

Post by Griff »

well, i've downloaded the rendermonkey shader building program from ATI http://ati.amd.com/developer/rendermonkey/index.html (windows only)...a bit stuck now though, anyone here know how to use it?
it looks like it might be just the ticket for importing ships and adding the glow maps etc, i think it then writes out the shader code hopefully in an oolite friendly form, if i can get some progress on it i'll post here

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

RenderMonkey can apparently be used for GLSL, which is what is needed.

Lumina looks potentially interesting, and is cross-platform (Linux and Windows, should be possible to make for OS X). It’s also scriptable - with JavaScript. There’s a thing, eh?

User avatar
Star Gazer
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: North Norfolk, UK, (Average Agricultural, Feudal States,Tech Level 8)

Post by Star Gazer »

OK. On closer examination, Kraits 1 &2 are rendering OK, but 3 & 4 produce the bright blue glow...
Very funny, Scotty, now beam down my clothes...

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

@Star Gazer: is it the same as Griff is getting? A screen shot may be helpful.

User avatar
Star Gazer
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: North Norfolk, UK, (Average Agricultural, Feudal States,Tech Level 8)

Post by Star Gazer »

@ ahruman - I've got some pictures using Snapz, can I email them to you? - I have no way to host them at the moment.
hold on... should I have done this...?
after adding “#define OOLITE_LIGHT_0_FIX” at the top of each shader
...where?
Very funny, Scotty, now beam down my clothes...

User avatar
Griff
Oolite 2 Art Director
Oolite 2 Art Director
Posts: 2298
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Wales

Post by Griff »

all four kraits have a blue tint on my system so it's interesting that two of them - the two without the maps to add the glowing lights on the hull are rendering OK on your system.
incidently does adding “#define OOLITE_LIGHT_0_FIX” at the top of each shader brighten up the light used to draw the ships on the start screen? i'm just asking as it might be useful to check the specular maps. i'm testing them in game at the moment using ships with a dumbAI to get them rotating so i can see the specularity effect move across the hull, but testing them on the demo screen would be better

Post Reply