The Feudal States

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:24 am
Location: California

Post by Chrisfs » Sat Jan 23, 2010 8:56 am

Ramirez wrote:Following some updates to models used in Asteroid Storm I've uploaded a version 1.2 to resolve any potential clashes.

I can't replicate the crashes to desktop people are having - not sure if it's still shaders or if it's something else. I'll be ready to apply a fix once we know what the problem is!
If people have a crash, what sort of info/logs do you need in order to help fix it?

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks » Sat Jan 23, 2010 3:02 pm

Not always, if it's a bad crash, you don't see anything helpful. But it's always helpful to have at least a look at the log.

Sometimes, and it might be the case with this one, the bug is due to some obscure-ish platforms differences...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
allikat
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by allikat » Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:25 am

My log from the crash is http://pastebin.com/m449a57a7, and no, it doesn't mention anything that I saw as potentially helpful.
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....

warboss
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:40 pm

Post by warboss » Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:12 pm

I was crashing using the Feudal 1.1, downloaded 1.2 last night - was able to land and accept a Feudal mission , but when I attempt to exit from hypers space at Digebiti I get this

[shader.compile.fragment.failure]: ***** GLSL fragment shader compilation failed for feudal-fragment-shader.fragment:
>>>>> GLSL log:
0(89) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '{' at token "{"
0(89) : error C0501: type name expected at token "{"
0(90) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected $undefined at token "<undefined>"
0(90) : error C0501: type name expected at token "<undefined>"
0(91) : error C1038: declaration of "vec3" conflicts with previous declaration at 0(90)
0(91) : error C1115: unable to find compatible overloaded function "reflect(error, vec3)"
0(91) : error C1115: unable to find compatible overloaded function "normalize(error)"
0(91) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected $undefined at token "<undefined>"
0(91) : error C0501: type name expected at token "<undefined>"
0(92) : warning C7528: OpenGL reserves names starting with 'gl_'
0(92) : error C1038: declaration of "diffuse" conflicts with previous declaration at 0(92)
0(92) : error C1307: non constant expression for array size
0(92) : warning C7528: OpenGL reserves names starting with 'gl_'
0(92) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '.', expecting ';' or ',' at token "."
0(92) : error C0501: type name expected at token "."
0(92) : error C1038: declaration of "diffuse" conflicts with previous declaration at 0(92)
0(92) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '(' at token "("
0(92) : error C0501: type name expected at token "("
0(92) : warning C7022: unrecognized profile specifier "dot"
0(92) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ')' at token ")"
0(92) : error C0501: type name expected at token ")"
0(92) : warning C7022: unrecognized profile specifier "lightVector"
0(93) : error C1307: non constant expression for array size
0(93) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '.', expecting ',' or ')' at token "."
0(93) : error C0501: type name expected at token "."
0(93) : error C1121: pow: function type parameters not allowed
0(93) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '(' at token "("
0(93) : error C0501: type name expected at token "("
0(93) : warning C7022: unrecognized profile specifier "max"
0(93) : error C1121: dot: function type parameters not allowed
0(93) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ',' at token ","
0(93) : error C0501: type name expected at token ","
0(93) : warning C7022: unrecognized profile specifier "reflection"
0(93) : error C1109: function type not allowed for parameter "dot"
0(93) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected floating point constant at token "<undefined>"
0(93) : error C0501: type name expected at token "<undefined>"
0(93) : error C1109: function type not allowed for parameter "pow"
0(96) : error C1109: function type not allowed for parameter "main"
0(97) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '{', expecting ',' or ')' at token "{"
0(97) : error C0501: type name expected at token "{"
0(98) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '=' at token "="
0(98) : error C0501: type name expected at token "="
0(98) : warning C7022: unrecognized profile specifier "specular"
0(98) : error C1109: function type not allowed for parameter "vec4"
0(99) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ',' or ')' at token ";"
0(99) : error C0501: type name expected at token ";"
0(102) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ',' or ')' at token ";"
0(102) : error C0501: type name expected at token ";"
0(103) : error C1115: unable to find compatible overloaded function "texture2D(sampler2D, error)"
0(103) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ',' or ')' at token ";"
0(103) : error C0501: type name expected at token ";"
0(106) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ',' or ')' at token ";"
0(106) : error C0501: type name expected at token ";"
0(133) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ',' or ')' at token ";"
0(133) : error C0501: type name expected at token ";"
0(137) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ';', expecting ',' or ')' at token ";"
0(137) : error C0501: type name expected at token ";"

I am not a coder so have no idea what this means! i uninstalled the OXP and i could enter the system ok - reijnstalled it and it crashed again

User avatar
Ramirez
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 628
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:52 am
Location: London, UK

Post by Ramirez » Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:14 pm

I've now installed the 1.74 trunk build on the Windows half of my mac and it looks I get the same crash to desktop with the Feudal States as others. Unfortuantely I can't seem to get hold of the error log - the one that's saved in the Oolite folder doesn't update after the crash and the Windows event viewer is refusing to give me details of the error.

Has anyone else managed to get the OXP running on Windows?
Download Resistance Commander plus many other exciting OXPs HERE

User avatar
Griff
Oolite 2 Art Director
Oolite 2 Art Director
Posts: 2296
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Wales

Post by Griff » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:31 am

regarding the above shader error, it looks a lot like the 'spaces after the \ in the macro' error , have a look at page 11 of this thread (there's a bit more on page 14 too) for info on what to check in the fragment shader to see if it is indeed this bug/syntax error

warboss
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:40 pm

Post by warboss » Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:12 pm

i don;t know anything about coding - i wouldn't know the first thing about checking the fragment shader!! i don;t even have the software to do so

Chaky
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:15 am

Post by Chaky » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:14 pm

warboss wrote:i don;t know anything about coding - i wouldn't know the first thing about checking the fragment shader!! i don;t even have the software to do so
Notepad would do...

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:39 pm

Chaky wrote: Notepad would do...
I would recommend that you DON'T use Notepad! Cos it can bugger things up.

Recommend you search out Notepad++ ....
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

Chaky
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:15 am

Post by Chaky » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:41 pm

Well, notepad and eventual file-extention renaming...

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:31 pm

Chaky wrote:Well, notepad and eventual file-extention renaming...
It's not just that. It inserts hidden characters everywhere, buggering up the .plist files so that Oolite cannot read them.

See this thread: http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t= ... ht=notepad
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:44 pm

Chaky wrote:Well, notepad and eventual file-extention renaming...
It would appear that "Word Wrap" is the likely cause - adding invisible, but oolite corrupting data to the text.

As others have said, use either notepad++ or even wordpad seems fine.
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Svengali
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2365
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:47 pm

Ramirez wrote:Has anyone else managed to get the OXP running on Windows?
Yupp. pmed you the details... - and have had a challenge .-)
JazHaz wrote:
Chaky wrote:Well, notepad and eventual file-extention renaming...
It's not just that. It inserts hidden characters everywhere, buggering up the .plist files so that Oolite cannot read them.
Yupp. Notepad adds the hidden characters not consistently, so it's a question of luck.

Chaky
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:15 am

Post by Chaky » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:32 pm

It can't handle unicode characters, plus some ASCII.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:08 pm

For handling UTF-8 characters, make sure that the plist file that contains such characters is saved as UTF-8. I had a fair amount of problems once with displaying characters beyond the normal ASCII range for ship names, only to find out that the shipdata.plist I had been using was saved as DOS format.

Post Reply