Fuel Station OXP

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:26 pm

Kaks wrote:
Thargoid wrote:Editted to add - also on v1.73 the stations now use a new fuel pump icon on the advanced space compass. Although I must admit I forget who added that to trunk and made the icon :oops: If anyone can remind me I'll add a proper credit here and to the readme.
_ds_, aka Darren Salt! :)
Someone mentioned it last week and it reminded me. If you look in the readme he's properly creditted (as _ds_ anyway).

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:44 pm

Hmm, 1.2 fails with turretted ships again, but 1.11 doesn't (haven't got a copy of 1.12 to hand on this machine). Will try and track down how, what, where and why, but it seems most weird to me...

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:10 pm

OK, I'm now a very confused alien. I just tried 1.11 again, and that too now bounces a caddy off the fuel station? I'd swear it worked when I tried it the other day.

Something's definitely amiss here though, I'm not sure the turret sub-ent bug hasn't recurred again.

Editted to add - even more weird, I've got one caddy save-game that bounces off fuel stations, and another very similar one which docks and fuels as it should. This is getting daft! :evil:

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern » Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:51 pm

There's something about that station that doesn't like turreted ships. :?
Tried it with turreted ships other than a Caddy? I got the same results from a Dragon and a Xarik. I'd be hard put to squeeze a huge beast like a Kirin in there.

Meanwhile, I worked around this bug by hacking the station out of the oxp, and making it use the satellites in place of the station. The sats don't blow up their customers and get the job done.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:29 am

It seems to be the same bug that we thought was squashed, but seems to have recurred in a random and sneaky way. Yes I have now tried it with another turreted ship, and same results.

Removing the stations and using the satellites I would say is the best way. Would it be worth setting this up with OXPConfig to do it via a setting there?

User avatar
Lestradae
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

..

Post by Lestradae » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:05 am

You know T, while testing a few days ago I went into a fuel station with a player frigate (!) and it did refuel, nothing crashed.

That with the OSE version, but I had already upgraded that one to your version 1.2 of the fuel station.

The frigate has 15 turrets and does just so fit into the fuel station.

Just wanted to report here, got no crashes at all with the FSs.

:?

L

User avatar
Cmdr Wyvern
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Somewhere in the great starry void

Post by Cmdr Wyvern » Thu Sep 03, 2009 2:57 pm

Thargoid wrote:
Removing the stations and using the satellites I would say is the best way. Would it be worth setting this up with OXPConfig to do it via a setting there?
hmm. I think so, yeah. When a player gets fed up with '*BOOM* press space' just for trying to buy some gas, then a little tweak fixes the problem. Sounds like a plan.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:55 pm

Or at least temporarily sidesteps the problem until a proper solution is identified... :roll:
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:21 pm

Righto, version 1.21 is now on box.net. In it you can use extraA to block fuel stations (only satellites appear) for you turret jockeys, and also extraB to allow/stop NPC ships using the fuel stations (so if extraA is set false extraB does nothing).

Download from the first post link, or the sig below.

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:25 pm

And another small update I'm afraid, as there's a minor omission in the scripting of the NPC ships which stops them using the stations properly.

Version 1.22 adds the missing script line - thanks to Eric for pointing it out to me. Download from the first-post link, or the ones below.

User avatar
goran
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:32 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Post by goran » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:28 am

Just to inform You that yesterday I refueled in Fuel Station, flying my turret loaded b-wing, without turning into space dust. Fuelstation 1.21, 1.74 trunk.

User avatar
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2508
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
Location: London England
Contact:

Post by ClymAngus » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:42 am

Hmm Some are working some are not then? Sounds like a problem that might be fixed with a quick comparison of ship code.

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:53 am

It seems to be something random or at least not so obvious and repeatable still in the trunk code. I can now usually get a standard (original) caddy into a fuel station without problem, but on occasions I still bounce off/boom (depending on how quickly I happened to be going at the time).

The situation is much-improved, but I don't think it's 100% reliable yet, at least in v1.73.2.

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:36 pm

And just when I thought I had this OXP stabilised, another minor bugfix needed (to block stations and satellites spawning in systems that have already gone nova, as well as those in the process of doing so). Thanks as usual to eagle-eyed Eric for spotting it.

So V1.23 is now on box.net, download via wiki, links below or the one in the thread first post.

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane » Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:28 pm

I noticed that the fuel station and satellites even hail me by name if I am cloaked. I think this should be avoided.

Post Reply