Vampire MkIV : Diamondback

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2043
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Vampire MkIV : Diamondback

Post by Killer Wolf »

Latest from Isis Interstellar :
Image
Image
Image
Image

As per previous threads etc, this OXP incorporates the HUD switching ability, which only works in Trunk at the moment. As far as i've tested it, it seems to work fine, although (as per my thread in Discussions a while back) Oolite is wont to play silly buggers w/ me now and again, in that i mailed Thargoid (cheers for the script and help, bud) w/ a few queries and quirks that then subsequently vanished all by themselves.
needless to say, at the moment this OXP should probably be classed as a work-in-progress, so please shout out if anything crashes or doesn't work, as it may help the guys doing the Trunk code too.

Further pics, backstory, OXP are at : http://www.purgatori.net/diamondback.htm

Feedback welcome....

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy »

That's very, very nice (although perhaps the normals on the raised edges could be teased back just a teeny-tiny bit) - but I love the shape!

Seriously, well done!
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz »

Looks great! But does it work on 1.73.4 at all?
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

User avatar
Gimi
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 2073
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:02 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Gimi »

Gives me strong associations to F-22 and F-35. Had a look at your web page, and really like what you have done with the HUD (only minor thing is that the front and aft shield bars obscure visibility in combat mode in my view).

Any chance that the HUD enhancements you have made could be released as a separate OXP.

Otherwise, impressive.

Edit: Spelling
Last edited by Gimi on Sun Apr 04, 2010 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"A brilliant game of blasting and trading... Truly a mega-game... The game of a lifetime."
(Gold Medal Award, Zzap!64 May 1985).

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

If I may make an extreme nitpick: “velocity” on the HUD should be “speed”. It’s hard to imagine a space pilot not knowing the difference.

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy »

Ahruman wrote:If I may make an extreme nitpick: “velocity” on the HUD should be “speed”. It’s hard to imagine a space pilot not knowing the difference.
Oh, that hair is well and truly split! :wink:
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid »

I've got a suspicion or two about things that may need tweaking in the scripting. My plan is to look at it when I get time this week and try and sort things out (haven't had access to the HUDs until now so it's kinda difficult).

Also to properly check out the glitches KW saw that he mentions above that "magically fixed themselves".

User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2043
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Post by Killer Wolf »

cheers for the comments.
not tried her w/ 1.73, but i'm thinking all you need do is remove the
script = "dbHUDswitch.js";
line from the Player shipdata entry and change the
hud = "dbtradinghud.plist";
line to read "dbnormalhud.plist" or "dbcombathud.plist" as you prefer.

Thargoid, one thing i did spot, is my velocity bar in the combat HUD : when you slow down it seems to turn dim/dark instead of going from yellow to green : i'll have a look myself as it could be a typo but you may know better if something else is up w/ it. Oddly, it's fine in the normal HUD.

oh, and :
velocity
- 6 dictionary results
ve·loc·i·ty
   /vəˈlɒsɪti/ Show Spelled[vuh-los-i-tee] Show IPA
–noun,plural-ties.
1.
rapidity of motion or operation; swiftness; speed: a high wind velocity.

= i don't see the issue.

User avatar
drew
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Contact:

Post by drew »

DaddyHoggy wrote:
Ahruman wrote:If I may make an extreme nitpick: “velocity” on the HUD should be “speed”. It’s hard to imagine a space pilot not knowing the difference.
Oh, that hair is well and truly split! :wink:
He he.. Excellent! Damn, you lot are good! :lol:

Cheers,

Drew.
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy »

@KW - I think Ahruman is angling (no pun intended) that velocity is a vector, it must have a magnitude and a direction, speed is just a measure of how fast you are going. (In Frontier - ships had a velocity becuase you could be moving in one direction and be facing another, in E/Oolite you have a speed because you move where you point the nose of the ship)

They are subtlety different.

I hope this is what you were trying to get at Ahruman?
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid »

Killer Wolf wrote:cheers for the comments.
not tried her w/ 1.73, but i'm thinking all you need do is remove the
script = "dbHUDswitch.js";
line from the Player shipdata entry and change the
hud = "dbtradinghud.plist";
line to read "dbnormalhud.plist" or "dbcombathud.plist" as you prefer.

Thargoid, one thing i did spot, is my velocity bar in the combat HUD : when you slow down it seems to turn dim/dark instead of going from yellow to green : i'll have a look myself as it could be a typo but you may know better if something else is up w/ it. Oddly, it's fine in the normal HUD.
I should be able to roll the 1.73 compatibility bit into the script, to just check the Oolite version and if it's <1.74 then just drop out of the script. You'll have to add the HUD setting line for the most suitable HUD (normalhud I guess) into shipdata.plist as noted above too if it's not already there.

As for the velocity bar, that sounds like a HUD plist typo - but I'm not an expert there having never written one and indeed only really glanced at existing ones.

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Killer Wolf wrote:velocity
- 6 dictionary results
ve·loc·i·ty
   /vəˈlɒsɪti/ Show Spelled[vuh-los-i-tee] Show IPA
–noun,plural-ties.
1.
rapidity of motion or operation; swiftness; speed: a high wind velocity.
Mere dictionaries are insufficiently nuanced for true pedants. In physics, and in technical usage in general, “velocity” always refers to a vector quantity. Speed is the magnitude of that vector.
DaddyHoggy wrote:(In Frontier - ships had a velocity becuase you could be moving in one direction and be facing another, in E/Oolite you have a speed because you move where you point the nose of the ship)
Well, you still have a velocity, but the display is scalar and hence indicates only speed.

Amaranth
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Vampire MkIV : Diamondback

Post by Amaranth »

KW, these are beautiful ships, and I have installed them as OXPs a bit back. There is however a slight bug I have noticed (it's one of those 'is it just me?' moments)

Some times, and this affects both the Mk3 and Mk4 Vampires, the craft do not show up on the IFF scanner, and cannot be targeted. However, they are definately 'there' as

1) they mass-lock the torus drive
2) I can fire at them and they receive damage
3) They fire back and I receive damage

Could this be a clash of OXP's as I also have the 'Police IFF scanner upgrade' OXP installed?
On a break

User avatar
Capt. Murphy
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 1127
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:46 am
Location: UK South Coast.

Re: Vampire MkIV : Diamondback

Post by Capt. Murphy »

Some of them have a chance of a cloaking device in their shipdata.plist. Is that what you are seeing - cloaked ships?
[EliteWiki] Capt. Murphy's OXPs
External JavaScript resources - W3Schools & Mozilla Developer Network
Win 7 64bit, Intel Core i5 with HD3000 (driver rev. 8.15.10.2696 - March 2012), Oolite 1.76.1

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5526
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Vampire MkIV : Diamondback

Post by another_commander »

I think that some of them have a chance of carrying the scanner jammer thingy equipment. Can't remember the actual name now (and can't be bothered to look it up) but it's a piece of equipment that is included in the core game but is officially totally unsupported.

Post Reply