Assign function keys to prime equipment

An area for discussing new ideas and additions to Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13820
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Cody »

Svengali wrote:I could add a option.
Which reminds me...

Astrobe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Astrobe »

Svengali wrote:
Cody wrote:
Astrobe wrote:I'd suggest to create a configuration screen dedicated to OXPs that can be reached in-flight.
Svengali's latest BGS kinda offers that - not in-flight, but when docked. Whether other OXPs will use it is the question.
It's Lib_Config.js in Library and, unlike the old OXPConfig, the script can be used in-flight. It would at least help to declutter the equipment list, so if there's real interest I could add a option.
That's good news!

Bogatyr
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Bogatyr »

I still think a general-purpose, fully programmable in-flight keymap feature solves everybody's problems. And gives everybody full customization. Maximum benefit!

Astrobe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Astrobe »

Bogatyr wrote:I still think a general-purpose, fully programmable in-flight keymap feature solves everybody's problems. And gives everybody full customization. Maximum benefit!
I've done "keyboard remapping" a long time ago in another project. I can say it can be tedious to code. But I know where you're coming from though, I'm using an AZERTY keyboard myself.

However there's this utility: http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Keyconfig

Bogatyr
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Bogatyr »

Astrobe wrote:
Bogatyr wrote:I still think a general-purpose, fully programmable in-flight keymap feature solves everybody's problems. And gives everybody full customization. Maximum benefit!
I've done "keyboard remapping" a long time ago in another project. I can say it can be tedious to code. But I know where you're coming from though, I'm using an AZERTY keyboard myself.

However there's this utility: http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Keyconfig
It basically just involves looking up the keypress in a dictionary where the keypress is the dict-key and the command is the resulting dict-value. Then it's a matter of coming up with UI screens that allow one to view and edit these values. The external keymap rewriter is handy, but we additionally need to add the notion of general prime-equipment<equipID>, set-mode-equipment<equipID>, activate-equipment<equipID> commands. And it should be internal to the core so it doesn't bit-rot with new releases.

NEANDERTHAL
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 3:55 am

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by NEANDERTHAL »

What about a tree-menu type system, like they use for chats in a lot of FPS games? Z, X, C, and V are free keys. For example, you could type Z,Z,Z, and then V to confirm and perform one operation, and then press Z,X,X and V to perform another. Maybe you could type 1-2 characters of a command and press v while incomplete to clear it. That gives you 27 different commands, all accessible in the same amount of time.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Smivs »

--- .-.
.--- ..- ... -
..- ... .
-- --- .-. ... .
-.-. --- --. .
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by kanthoney »

That's a good idea - if we use morse then we'll never run out of keys. We'd just have to learn the morse for things like "shoot", "jink left" and "target incoming missile. No, not that one, the other one."

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Assign function keys to prime equipment

Post by Diziet Sma »

I confess to being a tad disappointed to return after a year's absence, to find that Oolite still doesn't have in-game key configuration. :(
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

Post Reply