Re: Elite: Dangerous - and the return

Off topic discussion zone.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Cody

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by cim » Sun Mar 16, 2014 10:41 pm

pagroove wrote:But am I the only one that in theory such a station could be done in Oolite too?.
Maybe. You could model it, but it wouldn't work very well:
1) Collision detection on objects that large is not great: the current Coriolis already has slightly bad detection, and this one is 12 times bigger relative to the ships (moon-sized, in Oolite) to fit the interior in. A collision would also be instantly fatal regardless of speed.
2) There's no mechanism in Oolite to do the extremely complicated rotational and translational manoeuvres needed to keep your ship positioned relative to the station's reference frame once you move off-axis - which get harder the further off-axis you get. It looks really impressive but it feels a very unsafe design. (Anyone with Alpha access tried docking without flight assist yet?)
3) Off-centre docks on a rotating object deny clearance, so NPCs wouldn't be able to use it at all.
4) The period without flight control immediately on launching would likely lead to an unavoidable collision with something.

What you could do is model the station interior as part of the station, and then use visual effects to replace the break pattern with in/out transitions (though quick ones, since you only get a few seconds to show the effect). The extended interiors of the Salvage Gang or Hacker Outpost are probably as close as you can really get in Oolite.

User avatar
Ranthe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:35 pm
Location: Paraparaumu, New Zealand (TL 8, Rich Agricultural, Multi-Government)

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Ranthe » Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:20 am

Cody wrote:
Griff wrote:I keep thinking the stations called Port Zelda
Beautiful Zelda from Galaxy Four?
Must be because we're Urban Spacemen :-)
Commander Ranthe: Flying the Anaconda-class transport Atomic Annie through Galaxy 2.
Combat Ranking: Dangerous
"Big ships take more booty on your interstellar flights..."

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3033
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by pagroove » Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:39 pm

cim wrote:
pagroove wrote:But am I the only one that in theory such a station could be done in Oolite too?.
Maybe. You could model it, but it wouldn't work very well:
1) Collision detection on objects that large is not great: the current Coriolis already has slightly bad detection, and this one is 12 times bigger relative to the ships (moon-sized, in Oolite) to fit the interior in. A collision would also be instantly fatal regardless of speed.
2) There's no mechanism in Oolite to do the extremely complicated rotational and translational manoeuvres needed to keep your ship positioned relative to the station's reference frame once you move off-axis - which get harder the further off-axis you get. It looks really impressive but it feels a very unsafe design. (Anyone with Alpha access tried docking without flight assist yet?)
3) Off-centre docks on a rotating object deny clearance, so NPCs wouldn't be able to use it at all.
4) The period without flight control immediately on launching would likely lead to an unavoidable collision with something.

What you could do is model the station interior as part of the station, and then use visual effects to replace the break pattern with in/out transitions (though quick ones, since you only get a few seconds to show the effect). The extended interiors of the Salvage Gang or Hacker Outpost are probably as close as you can really get in Oolite.
Well I'm not even trying to model that. But I immediately thought of the Salvage gang too.
But indeed the Coriolis in ED feels very unsafe. But it looks fab.
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by JazHaz » Mon Mar 17, 2014 6:38 pm

Apparently Alpha v.3.1 is out, hopefully fixing a number of bugs.

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by kanthoney » Mon Mar 17, 2014 6:40 pm

JazHaz wrote:Apparently Alpha v.3.1 is out, hopefully fixing a number of bugs.
If not, I say we send cim over to do the job properly :D

User avatar
maik
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by maik » Mon Mar 17, 2014 7:46 pm

kanthoney wrote:
JazHaz wrote:Apparently Alpha v.3.1 is out, hopefully fixing a number of bugs.
If not, I say we send cim over to do the job properly :D
And for good measure send Griff with him :D

Then again, I'd rather they keep on with their fantastic jobs on Oolite ;-)

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Getafix » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:54 pm

maik wrote:Then again, I'd rather they keep on with their fantastic jobs on Oolite ;-)
<...clanking sounds of chains coming from dark and wet doongeons...
agonizing screams... they somehow bring familiar faces in mind...>


:lol:
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13694
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Cody » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:59 pm

<chortles> Which brought this to mind, for some reason.
Their dreams a tattered sail in the wind

User avatar
maik
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by maik » Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:29 pm

Hehe :D

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Getafix » Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:59 am

Cody wrote:<chortles> Which brought this to mind, for some reason.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

(I just added three of them icons, so as not to be considered a flooder...
however, every time I click the link "this" the bursts of laughs
are coming up in tsunamis)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Wolfwood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:53 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Wolfwood » Sat Mar 22, 2014 4:06 pm

cim wrote:2) There's no mechanism in Oolite to do the extremely complicated rotational and translational manoeuvres needed to keep your ship positioned relative to the station's reference frame once you move off-axis - which get harder the further off-axis you get. It looks really impressive but it feels a very unsafe design. (Anyone with Alpha access tried docking without flight assist yet?)
Not me, but here's a nice video of Captain N doing it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6roNa2M ... ture=share
Author of Tales from the Frontier - official Elite 4 anthology.
Author of Marcan Rayger adventures - unofficial fan-fic novellas set in the Frontier universe.

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Getafix » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:08 am

Cody wrote:
Getafix wrote:I will have to buy a used Core 2 Duo Quad, for my aged motherboard, to be prepared for E/D Beta release.
How 'aged' - Socket 775? I've got an old Asus 775 mobo in the cupboard (no CPU though). You'd need a Q6600 or above, I'd guess?
I have an Asus P5P41D with a Pentium Dual Core (not a Core 2 Duo :( ).
I was planning to "steal" the Q6600 from the Oolite Nightly server ( :oops: ),
but when I did this Linux 64 VM and Windows VM needed re-work.
Now I'm looking into some offerings, either from local market or ebay, towards a used Q8400; you see, I wouldn't like to exceed 80€.

From the video card perspective at the time being I am watching Palit GTX750TI STORMX DUAL 2048MB.
My current nVidia 8600GT 512MB as of what is discussed is far less than adequate.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13694
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Cody » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:16 pm

Getafix wrote:I have an Asus P5P41D with a Pentium Dual Core (not a Core 2 Duo)
I don't suppose a Core 2 Duo E6600 is of any use to you, is it? Not good enough for E: D, of course.
The old mobo I have is the Asus P5W DH Deluxe, btw.
Their dreams a tattered sail in the wind

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Getafix » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:23 pm

Cody wrote:Not good enough for E: D, of course.
So what you are saying is that even if I get a Core 2 Quad Q8400,
it will be a waste of money "E: D"-wise? :shock:
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13694
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: David Braben's Elite: Dangerous

Post by Cody » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:31 pm

Getafix wrote:So what you are saying is that even if I get a Core 2 Quad Q8400,
it will be a waste of money "E: D"-wise?
No, I meant that an E6600 would not be good enough for E: D. I only wondered if you had any other use for an E6600. I believe a couple of people are happily running the Alpha using a Q6600, so a Q8400 should be fine. In case you hadn't seen them, these are the recommended minimum specs to run the Alpha:

Direct X 11
Quad Core CPU (4 x 2Ghz is a reasonable minimum)
2 GB System Ram (more is always better)
DX 10 hardware GPU, 1GB video RAM

What the minimum specs for the finshed game will be, I know not.
Their dreams a tattered sail in the wind

Post Reply