Anyone know Virtualbox?

Off topic discussion zone.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Cody

Post Reply
User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by ffutures »

I wanted to run some label printing software that REALLY doesn't like running on my Windows 7 PC, and didn't want to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional just to run one program under XP. I did have an old XP install disk, and downloaded Virtualbox to run it as a virtual machine.

I've got this working, and shouldn't need to use a browser at all, but it's always possible I'll end up using the virtual machine for other things. But XP keeps telling me it needs anti-virus software. I'd assumed that the host computer's anti-virus program would take care of things - does anyone know if I'm right?

User avatar
OSH
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Poland, Lave Station :)
Contact:

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by OSH »

It's possible (in theory) your computer will be infected by virus, which came out of virtual machine environment into host. But the chance is really small, so I think, you don't have to worry about it...
A4000 060/50, 16 MB RAM, A1200 E/BOX Tower, Apollo 1240/25 MHz 34 MB RAM, HDD 40 GB; LiteOn 52x32x52, A1200 E1230/40 18 MB RAM, CD-32+SX-1 10 MB RAM, A500, CDTV, A600, C-64, C-64+1541-II, C-64G, C-16
Still hunting in Edriuson (G3) for Deadly status...

User avatar
Bugbear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 408
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:30 am

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by Bugbear »

Hi, I'm a heavy user of VirtualBox - currently use it to host my dev instance of Oolite on a Linux Mint guest (Windows 8.1 host)...

The thing to understand is that you are running a completely separate instance of XP, so yes, the OS will nag you for antivirus.

The simplest solution is to download Microsoft Security Essentials, (it's a free download) install it with the default configurations and then forget about it. Presumably, you aren't planning on using the browser to go to any dodgy sites, any you're not planning on running dodgy software so you should be ok.

Enjoy...
Last edited by Bugbear on Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Commander Bugbear
Cruising chart 5 in a Boa Class Criuser: Quantum Pelican I
Vigilante, trader, gems and precious metals hoarder.
Black Monks bothering performed at no extra charge.

User avatar
OSH
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Poland, Lave Station :)
Contact:

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by OSH »

Or simply change the settings in Security Center (or something)...
A4000 060/50, 16 MB RAM, A1200 E/BOX Tower, Apollo 1240/25 MHz 34 MB RAM, HDD 40 GB; LiteOn 52x32x52, A1200 E1230/40 18 MB RAM, CD-32+SX-1 10 MB RAM, A500, CDTV, A600, C-64, C-64+1541-II, C-64G, C-16
Still hunting in Edriuson (G3) for Deadly status...

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13823
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by Cody »

Bugbear wrote:The simplest solution is to download Microsoft Security Essentials...
I don't think MSE is compatible with XP - am I wrong?

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by ffutures »

In that case I'd better install Avast or one of the other free AV programs, just to be on the safe side. Not a problem.

User avatar
Bugbear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 408
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:30 am

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by Bugbear »

Cody wrote:
Bugbear wrote:The simplest solution is to download Microsoft Security Essentials...
I don't think MSE is compatible with XP - am I wrong?
Ah good point...I've been using it on my Win 7 and Win 8 VMs. It's been quite a while since I've needed to travel back to Win XP territory...

I just checked the Microsoft website - it's not officially supported. Sorry for leading you down the garden path ffutures... :oops: :(
Commander Bugbear
Cruising chart 5 in a Boa Class Criuser: Quantum Pelican I
Vigilante, trader, gems and precious metals hoarder.
Black Monks bothering performed at no extra charge.

User avatar
Pleb
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:23 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by Pleb »

I've always used AVG Free - I use it on all my PCs and laptops and also on my phone. I have never had any issues or got any viruses so I would recommend it! :mrgreen:

User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Anyone know Virtualbox?

Post by ffutures »

Bugbear wrote:
Cody wrote:
Bugbear wrote:The simplest solution is to download Microsoft Security Essentials...
I don't think MSE is compatible with XP - am I wrong?
Ah good point...I've been using it on my Win 7 and Win 8 VMs. It's been quite a while since I've needed to travel back to Win XP territory...

I just checked the Microsoft website - it's not officially supported. Sorry for leading you down the garden path ffutures... :oops: :(
I tend to use Avast! because I did have some problems with AVG in the early days - probably OK now, but since I'm much more familiar with Avast! I might as well stick to it.

Post Reply