Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:10 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:05 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Planet Pittsburgh - Steel System
Thanks Kaks.

_________________
Commander Hemlock


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:09 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:12 pm
Posts: 322
Location: Uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm
Quote:
It seems that D does not eject cargo. Shift R cycles the cargo, but I cannot eject it. Anyone else found this?
I occasionally get that. Since I can't figure out how to reproduce it yet I didn't mention it so far...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:29 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13545
Location: Corke's Drift
In a way that's reassuring; at least it's not just me. I know it happens, but I can't make it happen.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:06 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Quote:
I am getting a message that:

Anarchies 2.2.oxp
Interstellar_help.oxp
total_patrol.oxp

are incompatible with Oolite 1.73.....

Is this an error...or are there updated versions of these OXPs out there that I have missed?

Thanks

H
Hi! These are all mine. :D

I was away for the weekend and haven't even installed Oolite 1.73 yet. So please give me some days for making my OXPs 1.73-ready. With the fix mentioned by Kaks they'll probably work anyway, but I want to check if there are any issues with new/deprecated methods, and then upload new versions. May take a week or so, so please be patient. :)

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:04 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:14 am
Posts: 2512
Location: Tionisla
Can I ask a daft question again?

I've been trying to get the shaders working on my laptop and was wondering what the minimum requirement is for shaders to work on a gfx card. I have a GeForce FX 5200 Go and according to the specifications it has support for vector and pixel shader v2. Is that enough?

If so would anyone know how to enable it? It this point I have Griff's models showing but no glowmaps.

_________________
+++[ OOLITE PAPER MODELS Download Page | Elite/Oolite Timeline]+++


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:27 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6310
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
I use the same card.. if you have the latest drivers from NVIDIA and set shaders to full in the F2 options, you should be good to go..

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:09 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:05 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Planet Pittsburgh - Steel System
Quote:
Quote:
I am getting a message that:

Anarchies 2.2.oxp
Interstellar_help.oxp
total_patrol.oxp

are incompatible with Oolite 1.73.....

Is this an error...or are there updated versions of these OXPs out there that I have missed?

Thanks

H
Hi! These are all mine. :D

I was away for the weekend and haven't even installed Oolite 1.73 yet. So please give me some days for making my OXPs 1.73-ready. With the fix mentioned by Kaks they'll probably work anyway, but I want to check if there are any issues with new/deprecated methods, and then upload new versions. May take a week or so, so please be patient. :)
No problem waiting. Unpack your bags before you unpack the files. :lol:
Meantime, I'll have a Trumble Burger with mushrooms and onions and sit back in my commodious Mosquito.

H

_________________
Commander Hemlock


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:19 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Quote:
.... total_patrol.oxp....

are incompatible with Oolite 1.73.....
... but I want to check if there are any issues with new/deprecated methods, and then upload new versions. May take a week or so, so please be patient. :)
At least total_patrol.oxp can be improved with 1.73, as it now it has a early message at the sun returning point. Look inside Oolite for the new route2patrolAI. With Oolite 1.72 all oolites own route2vipers just burned in the sun because they tried to turn at the fuel skimming point what was way to late.

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:31 pm 
Offline
Oolite 2 Art Director
Oolite 2 Art Director
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
Posts: 2296
Location: Wales
@Selezen, if the ships look bumpy but with no glows etc, then Oolite could be using simple shader mode, try changing it to 'full', then exit the game and restart it to apply the change


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:00 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:14 am
Posts: 2512
Location: Tionisla
Right, that's a couple of ideas there, thanks! I'll give them a try tonight.

:-)

_________________
+++[ OOLITE PAPER MODELS Download Page | Elite/Oolite Timeline]+++


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:45 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
.... total_patrol.oxp....

are incompatible with Oolite 1.73.....
... but I want to check if there are any issues with new/deprecated methods, and then upload new versions. May take a week or so, so please be patient. :)
At least total_patrol.oxp can be improved with 1.73, as it now it has a early message at the sun returning point. Look inside Oolite for the new route2patrolAI. With Oolite 1.72 all oolites own route2vipers just burned in the sun because they tried to turn at the fuel skimming point what was way to late.
In total_patrol I dealt with that by (1) massively increasing the desired range from 25000 to 125000 and (2) giving all police ships a heat shield.

But yes, I already updated total_patrol according to the current patrolAIs. Will be released as soon as I tested it.

By the way: There are some small and inexplicable differences between route1patrolAI and route2patrolAI, e.g. in the HEAD_FOR_foo states:

route1patrolAI:
Code:
        "INCOMING_MISSILE" = (
            fightOrFleeMissile, 
            setTargetToPrimaryAggressor, 
            deployEscorts, 
            "setStateTo: INBOUND_LOOT", 
            groupAttackTarget
        ); 
route2patrolAI:
Code:
        "INCOMING_MISSILE" = (
            fightOrFleeMissile, 
            setTargetToPrimaryAggressor, 
            deployEscorts, 
            groupAttackTarget, 
            "setStateTo: OUTBOUND_LOOT"
        ); 
Don't know, though, whether the order of groupAttackTarget and setStateTo: matters. Oh, and by the way, the INBOUND_LOOT in the first example is a c&p-bug in the HEAD_FOR_WITCHPOINT-state, should be OUTBOUND_LOOT.

Another difference is that route1patrolAI switches to gotoWaypointAI, while route2patrolAI has its own WAYPOINT-states.

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:31 am 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Don't know, though, whether the order of groupAttackTarget and setStateTo: matters. Oh, and by the way, the INBOUND_LOOT in the first example is a c&p-bug in the HEAD_FOR_WITCHPOINT-state, should be OUTBOUND_LOOT.

Another difference is that route1patrolAI switches to gotoWaypointAI, while route2patrolAI has its own WAYPOINT-states.
That INBOUND_LOOT is definitely a copy&paste bug introduced already in 1.72 while fixing an other bug with that line.

The different waypoint handling has historic reasons. In the past the waypoint was always dealt within the AI itself. Already with 1.65 AI was completely reworked for the main route but no time was spend on the AI for route 2 (planet-sun). And as both work, why spend time in changing it. Changing itself takes no time but to do it well it must also be tested than to be sure you miss no exceptions.

Specially here are two different external AI's called than from within one state, that both need a different RESTARTED reaction. In the route1patrol a special trick is introduced to let it work. There the order of ("setStateTo: INBOUND_LOOT", groupAttackTarget) is very important as it changes the returnadress (returnstate) for the final "setAITo: interceptAI.plist" were all this ends as reaction on a missile attack.

The current OUTBOUND_LOOT can even be removed from your example as it only is called when the AI is already in interceptAI.plist and that has no such state. "groupAttackTarget" is a command with immediate reaction that makes that the line "GROUP_ATTACK_TARGET" = (setTargetToFoundTarget, "setAITo: interceptAI.plist"); is executed before it evaluates the following command in that line.
No real harm as it than just will do nothing but I'll change that line it in trunk.

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:28 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:14 am
Posts: 2512
Location: Tionisla
Good news, everyone!

I have updated my drivers from V4.0.1 to V6.15.13 and I HAZ GOT SHADERZ!

Oolite's menu options said that Shaders were unavailable before, and after the driver update everything was enabled. I'm a happy man!

Thanks for the advice!

_________________
+++[ OOLITE PAPER MODELS Download Page | Elite/Oolite Timeline]+++


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:39 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 925
Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...
WOOT Selezen!

Simple or Full?

Either way, it's got to be a huge jump forward in the visuals!
Congrats!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:49 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:14 am
Posts: 2512
Location: Tionisla
I have the option of Simple or Full! Shaderz to the max.

Jeez, I gotta stop typing like an emo teen...

_________________
+++[ OOLITE PAPER MODELS Download Page | Elite/Oolite Timeline]+++


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited