Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Arggh!!! Help!!
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:58 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
I just uninstalled Oolite 1.72.2 (I think) and installed the new 1.73.3 as suggested here and it doesn't work on my PC :cry:

Oolite starts, but all I get is a window with corrupted graphics and a spinning white blob which I assume is the default Cobra. Appears to be defaulting to software rendering and not using my Geforce 8600M graphics cards...

<img removed>

Output from my log file is:

[log.header]: Opening log for Oolite version 1.73.3 (x86-32 test release) under Windows at 2009-09-15 20:53:33 +0100.
2 processors detected.
Oolite Options: [Procedural Planets] [Docking Clearance] [Wormhole Scanner] [Target Incoming Missiles]

Note that the contents of the log file can be adjusted by editing logcontrol.plist.

[joystickHandler.init]: Number of joysticks detected: 0
[display.mode.list.native]: Windows native resolution detected: 1920 x 1200
[rendering.opengl.version]: OpenGL renderer version: 1.1.0 ("1.1.0")
Vendor: Microsoft Corporation
Renderer: GDI Generic

[rendering.opengl.extensions]: OpenGL extensions (3):
GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
[rendering.opengl.shader.support]: Shaders will not be used (OpenGL extension GL_ARB_shading_language_100 is not available).
[searchPaths.dumpAll]: ---> OXP search paths:
(Resources, ../AddOns)
[dataCache.upToDate]: Data cache is up to date.
[script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 5 world scripts: "oolite-cloaking-device" 1.73.3, "oolite-constrictor-hunt" 1.73.3, "oolite-nova" 1.73.3, "oolite-thargoid-plans" 1.73.3, "oolite-trumbles" 1.73.3
[dataCache.willWrite]: About to write data cache.
[dataCache.write.success]: Wrote data cache.
[gameController.exitApp]: .GNUstepDefaults synchronized.

Closing log at 2009-09-15 20:54:08 +0100.

I had no problem with shaders before... I'll try to upgrade my graphics driver and see if that helps!

Was working fine before - so am a bit bemuzed!!

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Last edited by drew on Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:58 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:17 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Went back and installed 1.65 and this works fine.... any clues folks?

Can't find any inbetween versions right now! :cry: Would go back to 1.72.x but don't have a download...!

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:35 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Drew, that's either a graphic driver issue, or you got a mixture of 1.72 & 1.73 in your install directory (1.73 has got an oolite icon instead of the generic windows program icon, and it should say 1.73 instead of 1.72). Weird though, it looks like opengl is not installed properly on your system. Strange, I would have thought 1.72.2 would have failed in the same way...

In any case, here's the direct link to 1.72.2:

http://prdownload.berlios.de/oolite-lin ... 2-test.exe

If that doesn't help, save the whole oolite directory to a zip file, delete it all by hand and try reinstalling either 1.72 or 1.73.3! (I'd go for the latter, but I'm slightly biased!

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Last edited by Kaks on Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:40 pm 
Offline
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Sweden
I note that it says 1.72.2 in the window title. Looks as though you installed over the old version (?)

The graphics issue is because it’s using Windows software rendering rather than hardware accelerated rendering. I have no idea why that would happen, if other versions work.

(Oh, and the reason there are no textures is that Windows software rendering is a minimal OpenGL 1.1 implementation, but the texture format Oolite uses was introduced in OpenGL 1.2. Oolite should really refuse to run under 1.1, but there are apparently some implementations which report their version as 1.1 but work anyway.)

Edit: This is now fixed (for Intel systems, anyway), so 1.74 should work in Windows software rendering. I don’t recommend it, though. :-)

_________________
E-mail: jens@oolite.org


Last edited by JensAyton on Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:46 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
That image isn't from my game, so ignore the window text - that's just what it looks like - i.e. software rendering. I definitely have 1.73.3 and I've tried reinstalling after deleting the original directory and making sure I have no other oolite directories present.

I'm downloading 1.72.2 and will report back...

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:48 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Can report that 1.72.2 works fine...

1.73.3 doesn't - it defaults to software rendering no matter what I do. :?

Output from log file when running 1.72.2 looks like this:

Interesting 1.72.2 seems to pick up my graphics card fine, whereas 1.73.3 doesn't... see original post... odd?!?

[log.header]: Opening log for Oolite version 1.72.2 (x86-32 test release) under Windows at 2009-09-15 21:47:20 +0100.
2 processors detected.
Note that the contents of the log file can be adjusted by editing logcontrol.plist.

[joystickHandler.init]: Number of joysticks detected: 0
[display.mode.list.native]: Windows native resolution detected: 1920 x 1200
[rendering.opengl.version]: OpenGL renderer version: 2.1.2 ("2.1.2")
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce 8600M GT/PCI/SSE2

[rendering.opengl.extensions]: OpenGL extensions (146):
GL_ARB_color_buffer_float GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_half_float_pixel GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_float GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ARB_window_pos GL_ATI_draw_buffers GL_ATI_texture_float GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_S3_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_Cg_shader GL_EXT_bindable_uniform GL_EXT_depth_bounds_test GL_EXT_draw_buffers2 GL_EXT_draw_instanced GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXTX_framebuffer_mixed_formats GL_EXT_framebuffer_sRGB GL_EXT_geometry_shader4 GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters GL_EXT_gpu_shader4 GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil GL_EXT_packed_float GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_pixel_buffer_object GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_texture3D GL_EXT_texture_array GL_EXT_texture_buffer_object GL_EXT_texture_compression_latc GL_EXT_texture_compression_rgtc GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_integer GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_texture_sRGB GL_EXT_texture_shared_exponent GL_EXT_timer_query GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_KTX_buffer_region GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color GL_NV_depth_buffer_float GL_NV_conditional_render GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_fence GL_NV_float_buffer GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_fragment_program GL_NV_fragment_program_option GL_NV_fragment_program2 GL_NV_framebuffer_multisample_coverage GL_NV_geometry_shader4 GL_NV_gpu_program4 GL_NV_half_float GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_multisample_coverage GL_NV_multisample_filter_hint GL_NV_occlusion_query GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_parameter_buffer_object GL_NV_pixel_data_range GL_NV_point_sprite GL_NV_primitive_restart GL_NV_register_combiners GL_NV_register_combiners2 GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_compression_vtc GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_NV_texture_expand_normal GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_texture_shader GL_NV_texture_shader2 GL_NV_texture_shader3 GL_NV_transform_feedback GL_NV_vertex_array_range GL_NV_vertex_array_range2 GL_NV_vertex_program GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_NV_vertex_program2 GL_NV_vertex_program2_option GL_NV_vertex_program3 GL_NVX_conditional_render GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_SGIX_depth_texture GL_SGIX_shadow GL_SUN_slice_accum GL_WIN_swap_hint WGL_EXT_swap_control
[dataCache.notFound]: No data cache found, starting from scratch.
[searchPaths.dumpAll]: ---> OXP search paths:
(oolite.app/Resources, AddOns)
[shipData.load.begin]: Loading ship data...
[script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 5 world scripts: "oolite-cloaking-device" 1.72.2, "oolite-constrictor-hunt" 1.72.2, "oolite-nova" 1.72.2, "oolite-thargoid-plans" 1.72.2, "oolite-trumbles" 1.72.2
[dataCache.willWrite]: About to write data cache.
[dataCache.write.success]: Wrote data cache.
[gnustep]: 2009-09-15 21:47:26.974 oolite[3428] Defaults path 'C:\Program Files/Oolite/oolite.app/GNUstep/Defaults' did not exist - created it

[gameController.exitApp]: .GNUstepDefaults synchronized.

Closing log at 2009-09-15 21:47:26 +0100.

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:55 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
That's really bizarre, I can't think of any reason 1.72 would recognise a driver, but 1.73 wouldn't...

Wait, I thought of something... maybe for whatever reason you started the oolite exe in compatibility mode?

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:59 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Pretty sure I didn't, I'm running with full admin privileges both now and when I installed.

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:06 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 925
Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...
What version of Windows? XP / Vista / 7?

If it is either of the latter two, are you installing to %Program Files% (usually 'c:\program files')? If so, try installing to just 'C:\Oolite'.


Can you double check the properties of of Oolite.exe and make sure it is not running in compatibility mode?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:31 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Windows XP sp3.

Tried installing 1.73.3 to c:\program files\oolite and c:\oolite (default) - still no joy...

Definitely not running in any compatibility mode I can see...

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:39 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5375
Drew, it's a long shot, but how did you uninstall 1.72.2? Did you launch the 1.73.3 installer and accepted its proposal to uninstall the previous version automatically? There is a known bug in the installer script that results in partial instead of full uninstall of the previous version and there is potential that different versions get mixed, although I don't see how it would be possible to affect the game in the way it does for you.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:28 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Nope. I uninstalled with the 1.72.2 uninstaller, then removed the directories and started clean.. :?

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:35 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5375
This is really weird. What are the rest of your system specs?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:47 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 2186
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
My PC is an Inspiron 1720 Laptop

Core 2 Duo T7500 @ 2.2Ghz
4 GB Ram
Geforce 8600M GT Graphics
1920x1200 Native Resolution

Never had problems running Oolite before. (And still don't with 1.72.2!)

Cheers,

Drew.

_________________
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Top
   
 Post subject: Same problem
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:54 pm 
Offline
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:34 pm
Posts: 2
Consider this one confirmed. Somewhere between 1.72.2 and 1.73.3 someone broke something.

Machine: Windows XP SP3
Card: Nvidia Geforce 7600 GT

I had 1.65 installed and it worked fine. I did an uninstall, and installed 1.73.3. I got a white spinning blob and solid boxes where there should be text. My log file is identical to drew's; it was using the software renderer and not the hardware. I had somewhat old drivers, so I downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia, but that didn't do anything. I uninstalled that and installed 1.72.2, and it now seems to work fine.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited