Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:55 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:24 am 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:18 am
Posts: 19
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Firstly, greeting all. I'm so glad I read a recent Guardian article about Elite's anniversary otherwise I'd never have known about Oolite. I'm in nostalgic heaven! I was amazed I could still dock at a Coriolis after 24 years away from the Cobra MkIII :lol:

I have a quick question that I hope you might be able to help with; I play Oolite on a Lenovo T43. It's got 2GB of ram but graphics-wise it uses an integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900. Now to me it looks pretty basic and doesn't give much oomph. What I was wondering was wether my laptop could handle the newer shading models etc without grinding to a halt?

Thanks for any advice.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:46 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6310
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Hi virgopunk, and welcome to the boards! :D

Intel graphics chipset drivers are known to have some shader issues.. however, apparently the latest crop of drivers are much improved.. I'd suggest going to Intels driver download site and see what you can find for your machine.. here's the link..

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Default.aspx?lang=eng

Oh yes, they also have a very handy tool available to help ID Intel chips.. might be useful..

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
 Post subject: Thanks!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:01 am 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:18 am
Posts: 19
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
That's very good advice. I'll give 'em a whirl and see where I get to.

Thanks again Diziet.

Catch you on the flip side.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:23 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Posts: 950
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
@virgopunk
You have to allow a minimum of 24bit depth for "Depth Buffer Bit Depth":
  • Right-click the desktop and click "Graphics Properties..."
  • Click on "3D Settings"
    Note: If this button is missing, you may be using an OEM driver. Download the latest driver from Intel.
  • Find the attribute "Depth Buffer Bit Depth" and select "24 Bit Depth Buffer"
    Note: Some cards may allow "32 Bit Depth Buffer". However, if memory conservation is a concern, 24-bit depth is sufficient.
  • Press OK for both windows. Restart oolite if open.

_________________
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]


Top
   
 Post subject: Even more thanks!
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:42 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:18 am
Posts: 19
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
That's brilliant. I'll be updating my drivers tonigt and seeing what I can do.

Cheers again :D


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited