Strange Behaviour After Reinstall

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

scaseman
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:43 pm

Strange Behaviour After Reinstall

Post by scaseman » Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:12 pm

I had a major drive crash recently losing all of my save files, my own fault as I have plenty of backup facilities. Now I will have to start all over again. But my main problem is now I have reinstalled Vista and Oolite. When I run Oolite the very top of the picture is cut off so I can only see the very bottom of the word Oolite. I did not have this problem before, Can anyone suggest a fix? The game is playable its just more of a nuisance factor.
Vidio card is a ATI 4870X2 running at 1920 X 1200 on a 28" Hanns G monitor.
Elite Commodore 64 1984
Dangerous Oolite January 2010
Right on Commander

Screet
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:02 am
Location: Bremen, Germany

Re: Strange Behaviour After Reinstall

Post by Screet » Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:24 pm

scaseman wrote:When I run Oolite the very top of the picture is cut off so I can only see the very bottom of the word Oolite. I did not have this problem before, Can anyone suggest a fix?
Just to make things clear: Are you running oolite in window or full screen mode?

Screet

scaseman
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by scaseman » Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:49 pm

I have tried both.
Elite Commodore 64 1984
Dangerous Oolite January 2010
Right on Commander

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:02 pm

Just a thought… are you using the same ATI driver version as before the crash?
It shouldn’t make any difference, but you never know... ATI drivers can vary a lot.
Which ATI driver do you have installed?

scaseman
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by scaseman » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:08 pm

I was using 10.1 but changed to 9.10 as I had been having the Griff ships problem. But that was before the crash, I am currently using 9.10
Elite Commodore 64 1984
Dangerous Oolite January 2010
Right on Commander

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:12 pm

Might be worth trying 10.2... I've given that a good workout with Griff's ships over the last week, and it appears to work fine.

scaseman
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by scaseman » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:24 pm

I have just gone back to 10.1 and it now seems ok. Thanks for the advice.
Elite Commodore 64 1984
Dangerous Oolite January 2010
Right on Commander

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:29 pm

Good… keep an eye on the ATI thread in ‘Discussion’, there will probably be an update every month, as ATI release each new driver version.

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:43 pm

scaseman wrote:I was using 10.1 but changed to 9.10 as I had been having the Griff ships problem. But that was before the crash, I am currently using 9.10
There shouldn't be a problem with the drivers version 10.2

I'm running CCC 10.2 (agp hot fix) with no shader problems on vista Ultimate.

I'm almost 100% sure griff fixed this so if you redownload the ships here

http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=6586&start=0

and install 10.2, again and see if that solves your issues...

Cheers Frame
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

scaseman
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by scaseman » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:47 pm

Yes I have installed 10.2 plus the new ships. All seem to be ok so far except for the Moray Medical Boat which shows very dark with reddish letters and symbols instead of its normal skin. Anyone got any ideas about that? I have redownloaded the file with no success.
Elite Commodore 64 1984
Dangerous Oolite January 2010
Right on Commander

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:50 pm

scaseman wrote:Yes I have installed 10.2 plus the new ships. All seem to be ok so far except for the Moray Medical Boat which shows very dark with reddish letters and symbols instead of its normal skin. Anyone got any ideas about that? I have redownloaded the file with no success.
I'll have quick look,, let me download it first
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:51 pm

scaseman wrote: the Moray Medical Boat which shows very dark with reddish letters and symbols instead of its normal skin.
You're right... it looks very dark in the shipyard, barely visible.

scaseman
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by scaseman » Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:10 pm

I am glad that its not just me. For the time being I have gone back to the earlier version. Its metallic but at least its visible.
Elite Commodore 64 1984
Dangerous Oolite January 2010
Right on Commander

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Post by Cody » Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:13 pm

The Moray shipdata.plist doesn't look right... a whole bunch of other OXP stuff in there. I need an expert to look at it.

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame » Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:16 pm

Yes it looks like the player version at least is work in progress..

I just fought 4 of the pirate kind NPC and these, when in combat, got some crazy lights effects going on. seems to be a sort of camouflage effect, but when they are idle they are looking OK..

I'm sure griff is aware of this, however it can never hurt to drop him a PM..

you should do that..

Cheers Frame
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

Post Reply