Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:03 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:57 pm
Posts: 164
Several days go my Linux distro (Manjaro) had quite a large update (if memory serves it was between 600-700 meg).
Anyhow it appears that since that update my Oolite (1.86) is suffering at times from a diminished key repeat issue.

For example if I am hold "i" to inject away, injectors will engage for around 8 seconds and then cease until I release "i" and depress it again.
The same is true at times of holding shift to repeatedly tap "N" to cycle through equip rather than activate using "n", I will sometimes get equipment activating even though shift is held down.
Sometimes piloting the ship seems to suffer from the same issue, especially if I am holding up or down to bring ship about 180 degrees, I will find that my course change halts part way through until I release the key and then depress again.
As yet I haven't noticed anything else suffering from this behaviour (just Oolite) I just wanted to ask if any other users of Manjaro or indeed any other Linux distro has experienced any similar problems with Oolite?

_________________
O.C.T.D (Oolite Crash Test Dummy) Hmm Hmm Hmm Hmm......


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:12 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2525
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Is the problem persists with another keyboard, or with different repeat/sec settings?

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:01 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:57 pm
Posts: 164
Thanks for the suggestion Norby.
It didn't look like a keyboard / keyboard settings issue (but then I remember lots of instances in the past where I discounted an explanation because it was too obvious - to my folly).
So I have tested with an alternate keyboard (packed up my cherry and replaced with a spare Logitech :( ) No change there - aside from being less pleasant to type on.
I have also tried doubling the keyboard repeat speed from 20 to 40 with no change in behaviour regarding Oolite.

Ahh - knock me down with a feather - the distro update gods must be spying on me - my little update icon has just lit up red which means more updates are waiting.

I'll update again and try running Oolite again in case the updates make any difference.

Will post back once done.

Thanks again.

_________________
O.C.T.D (Oolite Crash Test Dummy) Hmm Hmm Hmm Hmm......


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 8:36 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:57 pm
Posts: 164
Apologies for the delay in reporting back.
After a couple of batches of updates, kernel updates amongst them I still have the odd behaviour present.
The odd thing that I have noticed is that the ship will circle by holding climb or dive, but if another key is depressed it revokes the held key after around 4 seconds.
I've tried another save game just in case it was something to do with the python commander ship which I am currently using but alas found the same issue with a previous game in which I have a cobra mk 4.

I'll try my alternate LTS kernel to see if it makes any difference and report back.

_________________
O.C.T.D (Oolite Crash Test Dummy) Hmm Hmm Hmm Hmm......


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:43 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2525
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
At last resort buy a gamepad - keyboard-like usage but different interface so should workaround the problem.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:00 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2194
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
You could also try doing a test with an older version of Oolite (say, 1.84 or 1.82) and seeing if the problem persists.

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:27 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13376
Location: Corke's Drift
Older versions of Oolite are available here - and just to check: you are using a Linux Oolite from here, yes?


Ahh yes, Oolite 1.65 - I remember it well.

_________________
But I wish, me my friend, I could sail to the stars
Have the gift to transport
My whole being, my whole thought
To a world of dreams, my friend


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:11 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Posts: 908
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Cody wrote:
Quote:
...and just to check: you are using a Linux Oolite from here, yes?...
@Damocles Edge
Could you check that you get the same behavior when running Oolite using the oolite.org package?

_________________
Xubuntu 14.04LTS / Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz - 6GB DDR2 - Palit GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual (2048MB DDR5)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:42 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:57 pm
Posts: 164
Sorry I have been away from Oolite for some time (not like me).

Subsequent updates to my Manjaro rig have not addressed this strange issue, but I have learned to adjust my Oolite play (key depression sequence) to allow for it.
I can confirm that I am using the oolite.org package 1.86 (have been ever since I found that the distro install of Oolite scattered files between home and root partitions).

It's got me foxed because I know that my Oolite install hasn't changed (aside from oxp's) so therefore it must be something that has changed with the updates to my Manjaro install.
Rolling back to an older version of Oolite sounds quite a chore and I would guess that it probably won't resolve whatever the issue is (as 1.86 was previously running just fine for a long time).

Many thanks to everyone for their input and ideas.

Apologies once again for being away for so long.

_________________
O.C.T.D (Oolite Crash Test Dummy) Hmm Hmm Hmm Hmm......


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:03 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Posts: 908
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Nice to here that you have adapted your handling.
I hope this doesn't affect your dog fighting or evasive maneuvers, though. :wink:

I will try to replicate the issue. Please, share some info about your Manjaro installation.
Talking about 64bit Manjaro distro, right?
XFCE, KDE or GNOME desktop environment?

_________________
Xubuntu 14.04LTS / Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz - 6GB DDR2 - Palit GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual (2048MB DDR5)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:05 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:57 pm
Posts: 164
Quote:
Nice to here that you have adapted your handling.
I hope this doesn't affect your dog fighting or evasive maneuvers, though. :wink:
At times it does - but not too often - Python's don't dogfight too well, so I prefer to keep my quarry at a distance.
Quote:
I will try to replicate the issue. Please, share some info about your Manjaro installation.
Talking about 64bit Manjaro distro, right?
XFCE, KDE or GNOME desktop environment?
I use XFCE 64bit (can't see there being many folks at all using 32bit).

Cheers

_________________
O.C.T.D (Oolite Crash Test Dummy) Hmm Hmm Hmm Hmm......


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:56 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 1035
Location: Essex (mainly industrial and occasionally anarchic)
Damocles

Are you using a Lenovo computer? It's been revealed recently that Lenovo computers - well, some ThinkPads at least - have very buggy keyboard firmware. (And that might fit some experiences I have had on my Linux - Linux Mint 0 ThinkPad, though I play Oolite only on my Windows desktop.)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited