Where do I put oxp's?

For discussion of ports to POSIX based systems, especially using GNUStep.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
stryke
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:11 pm

Where do I put oxp's?

Post by stryke » Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:40 pm

Hi, I've just installed oolite using ubuntu software centre, running ubuntu 11.04 (amd64).
I cannot find where to put expansions. It's not as described on the wiki "Linux - The OXP directory can be found in $HOME/.Oolite/AddOns. for all current versions of OOlite"

Nor can I find any oolite folder on my system, it's been about 20 years since I last used a unix based system so I'm probably overlooking something simple, any help would be appreciated.... and keep it simple :p

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13693
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by Cody » Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:58 am

Hi stryke and welcome.

I'm no Linux man, but it might help you to read this thread.
One of the Linux wizards will be around shortly, I'm sure.
Their dreams a tattered sail in the wind

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by Smivs » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:30 am

Hi stryke, and welcome.
Go to 'places', 'home folder', then click on 'view', then 'show hidden files'. You should find .oolite in the files revealed, and .AddOns will be in there.
Hope this helps.
Smivs

Edit:- Which version of Oolite did you get? If you used Synaptic you may have 1.65 which is the last 'stable' release. However this is very out-of-date now. The current version is 1.75.3 and can be downloaded from the Oolite homepage. This comes with an auto install and is the recommended version to use. See the thread mentioned by El Viejo above for more details.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

stryke
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by stryke » Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:00 pm

Thanks for the replies, I managed to get it sorted before checking back here (new posts need to be approved by mod).

I'll explain anyway in case anyone else gets the same problem.

I found as mentioned that I didn't have the version needed so remove that and install 1.75.3. run the srcipt and use /H option when prompted as opposed to root install.
The files are hidden so show all files (described above), there will be a ./Oolite file, inside this I needed to create /AddOns (make sure you have correct upper case and lower case) put the file that ends in .oxp inside it.

For some reason it took about 8 or 9 launches of oolite to recognise the oxp's so be patient however they all work now first time.

Thanks again for the replies, I hope this will be of some help to others in the future :)

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by Smivs » Sat Sep 03, 2011 3:44 pm

Glad it's all working for you, although AddOns should have been installed with the game - you shouldn't have to make your own folder.
Tip:- When installing new OXPs alwayds hold down 'shift' when you start the game, until the spinning Cobra appears. This clears the cache so the new OXP will work straight away.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

stryke
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by stryke » Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:50 pm

Smivs wrote:Tip:- When installing new OXPs alwayds hold down 'shift' when you start the game, until the spinning Cobra appears. This clears the cache so the new OXP will work straight away.
Thats a good tip, perhaps it's worth putting here? http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/OXP

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by Smivs » Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:56 pm

Done. I also re-arranged the installation section a little to (I hope) make it a bit clearer.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
MAWL
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:53 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by MAWL » Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:20 pm

I am running on Ubuntu 11.04, I made the same mistakes when I first tried to get Oolite working. It is definitely an inconvenience the way the software center contains V1.65 of Oolite, but I have discovered it is an unreliable application in general not just with regards to Oolite.

I am not sure if this has already been done(I am alluding to the preceding posts), but IMO the download links pertaining to Linux systems should point to Getafix's excellent post : http://www.aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9570
And if this was done then CHEERS!

This one post solved all my problems, and clearly detailed the instructions necessary for a proper installation. I would have saved a lot of time and frustration by going there first.

commanderxairon
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:16 am

Re: Where do I put oxp's?

Post by commanderxairon » Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:10 pm

simple, install last version of oolite and then go to opt/ folder, inside is installed oolite just keep going in and you will find addons folder install the .oxp folders there, not the others just the .oxp's and their contents
Pirate Commander: I would taken over Anleis and maked the first pirate system on this Ooniverse and become the monarch of all that empire if This stupid boy and his ship would'nt interfeer

Kuroshido(RXS-mariana) : scooby doobi doo?....

MY CREW

Post Reply