Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysticks

For discussion of ports to POSIX based systems, especially using GNUStep.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

Post Reply
bluntdischarge
Poor
Poor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:39 pm

Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysticks

Post by bluntdischarge »

Hi There,

I've got a digital/microswitch based joystick I'd like to use with Oolite (Qanba Q4) but I cannot set the Yaw/Roll to the joystick ( I imagine because they're buttons, not axes)

In the Joystick configuraiton menu of Oolite, the joystick is listed correctly as "Stick 1".
I can set all the other buttons in the configuration menu without issue.

Is there a way I can force this in the configuration file?

I've had a look at oolite.plist, and can see some of the button configuration's I've made. However, I can't make heads or tails of the syntax I need to have to get:

Roll - button A/B (matching to left/right on the joystick)
Pitch - button X/Z (matching to up/down on the joystick)

Also, is it possible to have a modifier button that for example, switches one of the axes/buttons between Yaw & Pitch while held down?

Thanks!

bluntdischarge
Poor
Poor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by bluntdischarge »

...and before anyone says anything, I'm fully aware the correct answer to this question is to purchase a CrotchMaster WingDestroyer 4 Hyper-Pro Turbo joystick...

Image

... or something similar, but it isn't an option at the moment.

User avatar
Gimbal Locke
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:32 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by Gimbal Locke »

Hi bluntdischarge, welcome!

(Sorry, I cannot help you with joystick stuff, but I'm confident that somebody who can will post here soon.)

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by Commander McLane »

bluntdischarge wrote:Image
Wow! :shock:

Back in my days a joystick used to look like this:
Image

bluntdischarge
Poor
Poor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by bluntdischarge »

Another thing, when I assign Left/Right/Up/Down to an arbitrary button they come up as:

stick 1 hat up
stick 1 hat down
stick 1 hat left
stick 1 hat right

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by JensAyton »

bluntdischarge wrote:Another thing, when I assign Left/Right/Up/Down to an arbitrary button they come up as:

stick 1 hat up
stick 1 hat down
stick 1 hat left
stick 1 hat right
That’s because your “stick” is identified as a direction pad, and dpads and joystick hat switches look the same from inside the computer. If it really conforms to the USB joystick specification, it also has at least two “dummy” analogue axes.

In any case, Oolite itself doesn’t support this kind of configuration. You’ll need external software to map the “stick” to emulated keystrokes.

bluntdischarge
Poor
Poor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by bluntdischarge »

Ahruman wrote:
bluntdischarge wrote:Another thing, when I assign Left/Right/Up/Down to an arbitrary button they come up as:

stick 1 hat up
stick 1 hat down
stick 1 hat left
stick 1 hat right
That’s because your “stick” is identified as a direction pad, and dpads and joystick hat switches look the same from inside the computer. If it really conforms to the USB joystick specification, it also has at least two “dummy” analogue axes.

In any case, Oolite itself doesn’t support this kind of configuration. You’ll need external software to map the “stick” to emulated keystrokes.
Thanks for the pointers! After some more fiddling, I've discovered there's a "Home" button that when pushed, toggles the reporting of dummy axes.

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by Eric Walch »

bluntdischarge wrote:
Image
You probably mapped the 'w' key to the right food pedal and the 's' key to the left food pedal. And seeing the shape of your left pedal, I assume you had some serious emergency breaks lately. :wink:

Nice joystick. :D

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Using Oolite with with arcade joysticks / digital joysti

Post by Diziet Sma »

Ahruman wrote:
bluntdischarge wrote:Another thing, when I assign Left/Right/Up/Down to an arbitrary
In any case, Oolite itself doesn’t support this kind of configuration. You’ll need external software to map the “stick” to emulated keystrokes.
Yep. for Linux, install joy2key using your package manager.
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

Post Reply