Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:02 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 3:14 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 63
Hello,

One of the users of Oolite on Debian has submitted the bug report #400028 in the Debian BTS.

Here is the initial report:
Quote:
Package: oolite
Version: 1.65-3
Severity: normal


After the start of oolite I may see a rotating ship and hear the music.
The message offers to load commander '(Y/N)'. However the program does
not respond to any keyboard input until terminated.

The stderr output of oolite follows. There is GL_ERROR (1280) in the end.
I wonder what does it mean. 1280 px is the width of my screen by the way.
I do not know if it matters.

2006-11-23 15:40:34.158 oolite[31691] initialising SDL
open /dev/sequencer: No such file or directory
2006-11-23 15:40:34.349 oolite[31691] init: numSticks=0
2006-11-23 15:40:34.349 oolite[31691] CREATING MODE LIST
2006-11-23 15:40:34.483 oolite[31691] drawRect calling initialiseGLWithSize
2006-11-23 15:40:34.483 oolite[31691] Creating a new surface of 800 x 600
2006-11-23 15:40:34.485 oolite[31691] no universe, clearning surface
2006-11-23 15:40:34.505 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.506 oolite[31691] ---> searching paths:
("/usr/lib/GNUstep/System/Applications/oolite.app/Contents/Resources", "/usr/lib/GNUstep/System/Applications/AddOns", "/home/username/Library/Application Support/Oolite/AddOns", "/home/username/.Oolite/AddOns")
2006-11-23 15:40:34.506 oolite[31691] DEBUG ** no cache exists - yet **
2006-11-23 15:40:34.543 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.585 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.591 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.597 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.600 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.609 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.610 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.612 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.614 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.617 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.620 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.640 oolite[31691] Vertex Array Range optimisation - not supported
2006-11-23 15:40:34.641 oolite[31691] DEBUG creating octree cache......
2006-11-23 15:40:34.658 oolite[31691] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
2006-11-23 15:40:34.919 oolite[31691] DEBUG ** resetting track for <ShipEntity Player 100> **
2006-11-23 15:40:35.488 oolite[31691] Populating a system with economy 5, and government 3
2006-11-23 15:40:35.488 oolite[31691] ... adding 6 trading vessels
2006-11-23 15:40:35.488 oolite[31691] ... adding 2 sun skimming vessels
2006-11-23 15:40:35.488 oolite[31691] ... adding 16 pirate vessels
2006-11-23 15:40:35.488 oolite[31691] ... adding 1 sun skim pirates
2006-11-23 15:40:35.489 oolite[31691] ... adding 2 law/bounty-hunter vessels
2006-11-23 15:40:35.489 oolite[31691] ... adding 0 sun skim law/bounty hunter vessels
2006-11-23 15:40:35.489 oolite[31691] ... adding 1 Thargoid warships
2006-11-23 15:40:35.489 oolite[31691] ... adding 4 asteroid clusters
2006-11-23 15:40:35.489 oolite[31691] ... for a total of 32 ships
2006-11-23 15:40:36.813 oolite[31691] OPENGL_DEBUG GL_ERROR (1280) 'invalid enumerant' in: Universe before doing anything

-- System Information:
Debian Release: testing/unstable
APT prefers testing
APT policy: (900, 'testing'), (800, 'stable'), (700, 'unstable'), (1, 'experimental')
Architecture: i386 (i686)
Shell: /bin/sh linked to /bin/bash
Kernel: Linux 2.6.18-1-686
Locale: LANG=ru_RU.UTF-8, LC_CTYPE=ru_RU.UTF-8 (charmap=UTF-8)

Versions of packages oolite depends on:
ii gnustep-base-runtime 1.13.0-4 GNUstep Base library
ii libc6 2.3.6.ds1-4 GNU C Library: Shared libraries
ii libgl1-mesa-glx [libgl1] 6.5.1-0.2 A free implementation of the OpenG
ii libglu1-mesa [libglu1] 6.5.1-0.2 The OpenGL utility library (GLU)
ii libgnustep-base1.13 1.13.0-4 GNUstep Base library
ii libobjc1 1:4.1.1-13 Runtime library for GNU Objective-
ii libsdl-image1.2 1.2.5-2+b1 image loading library for Simple D
ii libsdl-mixer1.2 1.2.6-1.1+b2 mixer library for Simple DirectMed
ii libsdl1.2debian 1.2.11-4 Simple DirectMedia Layer
ii oolite-data 1.65-1 Data files for the space-sim game

oolite recommends no packages.

-- no debconf information
I wanted to make sure this wasn't a rendering speed issue (since I have seen that when rendering is slow, the game, indeed answers slow to key presses. It seems there is no such problem:
Quote:
> After the start of oolite I may see a rotating ship and hear the music.
> The message offers to load commander '(Y/N)'. However the program does
> not respond to any keyboard input until terminated.

Are you sure the problem is the slow rendering speed of your graphics card.
Try keeping the key pressed for a longer time and see if the key press is
recognized.

If the way the Coriolis Station moves is not continuous and smooth that should
point out a rendering speed issue. What kind of graphics card do you have? Do
you have DRI enabled? What driver do you use?
As said before, it seems is not:
Quote:
> If the way the Coriolis Station moves is not continuous and smooth that
> should point out a rendering speed issue. What kind of graphics card do you
> have? Do you have DRI enabled? What driver do you use?
>

Probably I did not explain it clear: the graphics (rotation of the
spacecraft) is more or less smooth. It does not look like a rendering
speed issue. Yes, I have DRI enabled with i810 driver (1.7.2-1) for
X.org:

$ xdriinfo
Screen 0: i915
$ glxinfo | head -10
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method,
GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe,
GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer

The problem is that when I see `Load Previous Commander (Y/N)' message,
the program does not respond to my keypresses, and the ship keeps
rotating.
I wanted to make sure the issue was not the same I saw:
Quote:
2006/11/24, Eddy Petrișor <eddy.petrisor@gmail.com>:
> Sorry, I miss the answer to this request:
> >> Try keeping the key pressed for a longer time and see if the key press is
> >> recognized.

Sorry for the delay. The programme does not respond to 30-seconds-long
key presses.

Best regards,
jetxee
Help would be appreciated. I will direct the user to this topic.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:25 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 88
Location: Orlando, FL
I notice the environment is set up for the UTF-8 character set. Could this be causing the problem?

If you can tell me how to get that system info, I'll get the dump from my Debian/unstable system. Mine recognizes the keystrokes with no errors, so it could be useful for comparison purposes.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:17 am 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 63
Quote:
I notice the environment is set up for the UTF-8 character set. Could this be causing the problem?
I doubt it...
Quote:
If you can tell me how to get that system info, I'll get the dump from my Debian/unstable system. Mine recognizes the keystrokes with no errors, so it could be useful for comparison purposes.
... but we could use some info.

Easiest way to get that info is to install the reportbug package and simulate reporting a bug.
Code:
# aptitude install reportbug
$ reportbug -b oolite
Then, a template for the bug report which contains this info.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:14 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 88
Location: Orlando, FL
Wow. I haven't upgraded much of anything since I had those problems with the nVidia drivers, so this required about two hundred package changes. Something about python and its dependencies, I'd guess. Of course, I use apt-get instead of aptitude; I don't think there's much of a difference, but if someone wants to throw me a scrap of knowledge...

Anyway, I should have a little info for you soon, depending on how long it takes to install all these packages.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:53 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 88
Location: Orlando, FL
Here's my information:

Subject: oolite: Check status for key problem
Package: oolite
Version: 1.65-3
Severity: minor

*** Please type your report below this line ***


-- System Information:
Debian Release: testing/unstable
APT prefers unstable
APT policy: (500, 'unstable')
Architecture: i386 (i686)
Shell: /bin/sh linked to /bin/bash
Kernel: Linux 2.6.17-1-k7
Locale: LANG=C, LC_CTYPE=C (charmap=ANSI_X3.4-1968)

Versions of packages oolite depends on:
ii gnustep-base-runtime 1.13.0-5 GNUstep Base library
ii libc6 2.3.6-19 GNU C Library: Shared libraries
ii libgl1-mesa-glx [libgl1] 6.4.2-1 A free implementation of the OpenG
ii libglu1-mesa [libglu1] 6.4.1-0.4 The OpenGL utility library (GLU)
ii libgnustep-base1.13 1.13.0-5 GNUstep Base library
ii libobjc1 1:4.1.1-13 Runtime library for GNU Objective-
ii libsdl-image1.2 1.2.5-2 image loading library for Simple D
ii libsdl-mixer1.2 1.2.6-1.1+b1 mixer library for Simple DirectMed
ii libsdl1.2debian 1.2.11-3 Simple DirectMedia Layer
ii oolite-data 1.65-1 Data files for the space-sim game

oolite recommends no packages.

-- no debconf information

I'm not running UTF-8, but that doesn't prove anything. Just a step to check.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:35 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 63
Quote:
Wow. I haven't upgraded much of anything since I had those problems with the nVidia drivers, so this required about two hundred package changes. Something about python and its dependencies, I'd guess. Of course, I use apt-get instead of aptitude; I don't think there's much of a difference, but if someone wants to throw me a scrap of knowledge...

Anyway, I should have a little info for you soon, depending on how long it takes to install all these packages.
aptitude handles better upgrades where apt-get stumbles. It is the recommended way to upgrade from one release to another and was the only supported method for sarge upgrade.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:47 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 63
Quote:
ii libgl1-mesa-glx [libgl1] 6.4.2-1 A free implementation of the OpenG
ii libglu1-mesa [libglu1] 6.4.1-0.4 The OpenGL utility library (GLU)

ii libsdl-image1.2 1.2.5-2 image loading library for Simple D

ii libsdl1.2debian 1.2.11-3 Simple DirectMedia Layer
Did you have any reason to not upgrade these packages to the latest version?

I am still suspecting the graphics driver.

Can you provide the output of lspci -n and lspci -vv ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:28 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 88
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Quote:
ii libgl1-mesa-glx [libgl1] 6.4.2-1 A free implementation of the OpenG
ii libglu1-mesa [libglu1] 6.4.1-0.4 The OpenGL utility library (GLU)

ii libsdl-image1.2 1.2.5-2 image loading library for Simple D

ii libsdl1.2debian 1.2.11-3 Simple DirectMedia Layer
Did you have any reason to not upgrade these packages to the latest version?
Well, mine is the only Linux box in the house, so I'm the representative to the whole family. I just had the kids liking it when I updated my graphics drivers and lost control. For six weeks the system was practically unusable: it needed to be rebooted after every logoff, or every hour, whichever came first. Once I finally figured it out and got stuff working again, I refused to ever upgrade again. "Why didn't I stay with stable?" was my most common thought.

I'm just getting back to upgrading, though. Heck, I just replaced half the out-of-date stuff to get reportbug working.
Quote:
I am still suspecting the graphics driver.
Fair enough. Something about the fullscreen mode, I assume? I run Oolite in a window. A full-sized window, but a window nevertheless. I can't remember why. Perhaps something to do with xscreensaver.
Quote:
Can you provide the output of lspci -n and lspci -vv ?
Sure:
Code:
0000:00:00.0 0600: 10de:01a4 (rev b2)
0000:00:00.1 0500: 10de:01ac (rev b2)
0000:00:00.2 0500: 10de:01ad (rev b2)
0000:00:00.3 0500: 10de:01aa (rev b2)
0000:00:01.0 0601: 10de:01b2 (rev c3)
0000:00:01.1 0c05: 10de:01b4 (rev c1)
0000:00:02.0 0c03: 10de:01c2 (rev c3)
0000:00:03.0 0c03: 10de:01c2 (rev c3)
0000:00:04.0 0200: 10de:01c3 (rev c2)
0000:00:05.0 0401: 10de:01b0 (rev c2)
0000:00:06.0 0401: 10de:01b1 (rev c2)
0000:00:08.0 0604: 10de:01b8 (rev c2)
0000:00:09.0 0101: 10de:01bc (rev c3)
0000:00:1e.0 0604: 10de:01b7 (rev b2)
0000:02:00.0 0300: 10de:01a0 (rev b1)
#########################################
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce CPU bridge (rev b2)
	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0
	Region 0: Memory at f8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=64M]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce 220/420 Memory Controller (rev b2)
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap- 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-

0000:00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce 220/420 Memory Controller (rev b2)
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap- 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-

0000:00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01aa (rev b2)
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap- 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-

0000:00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce ISA Bridge (rev c3)
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle+ MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce PCI System Management (rev c1)
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O+ Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 5
	Region 0: I/O ports at 5000 [size=16]
	Region 1: I/O ports at 5500 [size=16]
	Region 2: I/O ports at 5100 [size=32]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce USB Controller (rev c3) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0 (750ns min, 250ns max)
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 177
	Region 0: Memory at ef000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:03.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce USB Controller (rev c3) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0 (750ns min, 250ns max)
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 177
	Region 0: Memory at ee800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:04.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation nForce Ethernet Controller (rev c2)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0 (250ns min, 5000ns max)
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 185
	Region 0: Memory at ee000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
	Region 1: I/O ports at d800 [size=8]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce Audio (rev c2)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0 (250ns min, 3000ns max)
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 5
	Region 0: Memory at ed800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce Audio (rev c2)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.: Unknown device 8384
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0 (500ns min, 1250ns max)
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 193
	Region 0: I/O ports at e100 [size=256]
	Region 1: I/O ports at e000 [size=128]
	Region 2: Memory at ed000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce PCI-to-PCI bridge (rev c2) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap- 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0
	Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=0
	BridgeCtl: Parity- SERR- NoISA- VGA- MAbort- >Reset- FastB2B-

0000:00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce IDE (rev c3) (prog-if 8a [Master SecP PriP])
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O+ Mem- BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 0 (750ns min, 250ns max)
	Region 4: I/O ports at b800 [size=16]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce AGP to PCI Bridge (rev b2) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap- 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 64
	Bus: primary=00, secondary=02, subordinate=02, sec-latency=64
	Memory behind bridge: ec000000-ecffffff
	Prefetchable memory behind bridge: eff00000-f7ffffff
	BridgeCtl: Parity- SERR- NoISA- VGA+ MAbort- >Reset- FastB2B-

0000:02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NVCrush11 [GeForce2 MX Integrated Graphics] (rev b1) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
	Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 248 (1250ns min, 250ns max)
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 201
	Region 0: Memory at ec000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
	Region 1: Memory at f0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
	Expansion ROM at efff0000 [disabled] [size=64K]
	Capabilities: <available only to root>
Yes, that's an nForce chipset. Not even nForce2. Old, you ask? Get off my lawn!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:05 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 63
Quote:
Quote:
I am still suspecting the graphics driver.
Fair enough. Something about the fullscreen mode, I assume? I run Oolite in a window. A full-sized window, but a window nevertheless. I can't remember why. Perhaps something to do with xscreensaver.
Quote:
Can you provide the output of lspci -n and lspci -vv ?
Sure:

....

0000:02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NVCrush11 [GeForce2 MX Integrated Graphics] (rev b1) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0c11
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 248 (1250ns min, 250ns max)
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 201
Region 0: Memory at ec000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Region 1: Memory at f0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable)
Expansion ROM at efff0000 [disabled]
Capabilities: <available only to root>
[/code]


I think this is a dead end. Sorry for that, but I can't figure out anything useful.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:18 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 88
Location: Orlando, FL
No problem. 99% of debugging is dead end. And it's always the last thing you try that turns out to be the solution.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:32 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Hmmm, looks like the original poster had a russian locale. Could it be a keymapping issue? Maybe Y is in a different place on a russian keyboard... (apart from the keyboard being in Cyrillic)

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:54 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 63
Quote:
Hmmm, looks like the original poster had a russian locale. Could it be a keymapping issue? Maybe Y is in a different place on a russian keyboard... (apart from the keyboard being in Cyrillic)
Yes, it is possible.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited