Another newbie

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Another newbie

Post by Killer Wolf »

Hi all,
just found Oolite, downloading like a mo-fo! :-D

all these mods and mission packs - can i just dump them all in at once and play them as i get to them?

damn, i lost years of my life to Elite, i still got the competition badge too
:-)


question - i'm cack at 3D stuff but fairly good at Photoshop - is it possible to design new skins/paintschemes etc to upload?


KW
//\oo/\\
User avatar
johnsmith
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:32 am
Location: Teance
Contact:

Post by johnsmith »

Welcome aboard. You could add all the expansion packs at once, but I'd advise against it, at least until you have beam lasers, as there are some nasty ships out there!

RE skins, you can use Photoshop to modify existing ships, then make an OXP to call the new skins. OXPing is a long subject, have a look at work other people have done, or trawl the forums. It's not too hard.
User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Post by Killer Wolf »

Cheers John.

just been testflying, using the BBC keys config - i SUCK! :-D
good lord, i used to be able to make a Cobra walk & talk, now i can barely get out the space station! many hours of my life are about to disappear i fell :-)

KW
//\oo/\\
User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2312
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

Killer Wolf wrote:many hours of my life are about to disappear i fell :-)
Alas, it is a fate many of us suffer. Until recently (having a 3000 word essay on the elderly to research, draft and write), the only contact I had with the family was blurry forms on the edge of my peripheral vision as I stared at the monitor screen.

Captain Hesperus
"I consider my crew to be my family. Stepan, my navigator is a wayward son, Rus the chief engineer is kinda like a big brother, and Zi the chef is that strange uncle everyone talks about in whispers and don't like the children visiting."
User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Post by Killer Wolf »

ah, sweet nostalgia.....

buying food and textiles at Lave, hyping to Zaonce, slow trawl in, tw@ some asteroids on the way and get followed by a slow moving Boa so i can't use the Torus, arrive at the station 30 mins later and stuff the landing :-D
fantastic.

in my defense tho, i think my graphics are cack. i have a 3gig pent, w/ 64mb onboard card which is supposed to be canny, but it seems a bit cack - the screen is WAY dark (i could only see the hangar lights, absolutely nowt of the station walls) and i see the planet meshes and stuff. will try it on my older machine which has an FX5700 card.

is it me tho, or are the Cobras a bit more twitchy that they were??

KW
//\oo/\\
User avatar
Star Gazer
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: North Norfolk, UK, (Average Agricultural, Feudal States,Tech Level 8)

Post by Star Gazer »

Interesting this thing about dark screens; I don't know if it's a purely WIntel PC phenomenon? Quite a lot of people have commented on this, but I've never had any problems with a Mac and an LCD screen. Strange...

Twitchy Cobra? Guess that depends what machine you first played it on, and how you are controlling it!!
Very funny, Scotty, now beam down my clothes...
User avatar
johnsmith
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:32 am
Location: Teance
Contact:

Post by johnsmith »

http://oosat.alioth.net/node/19

Try this, if you want to increase the contrast.
User avatar
Dr. Nil
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Nearest Hoopy Casino
Contact:

Post by Dr. Nil »

Killer Wolf wrote:slow trawl in, tw@ some asteroids on the way and get followed by a slow moving Boa
Buy the fuel injection if it starts to bother you. When you've played a while it's almost always down to your own decision whether you spend more than 3-5 minutes getting from station to station.
johnsmith wrote:http://oosat.alioth.net/node/19

Try this, if you want to increase the contrast.
And it makes the game run smoother too. It's essential to lo-specced players. The gas clouds which Clearskies removes seem to slow the performance more down than the 100+ expansion packs I've got running. A truly great little oxp.
Image

300 billboards in Your Ad Here!
Astromines and more in Commies.
AVAILABLE HERE along with other Oolite eXpansion Packs.
User avatar
Rxke
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 1757
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:54 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by Rxke »

Dr.-SPACE-Nil wrote:And it makes the game run smoother too. It's essential to lo-specced players. The gas clouds which Clearskies removes seem to slow the performance more down than the 100+ expansion packs I've got running. A truly great little oxp.
Aha! Didn't know that. I too see slowing down when there are lots of gas clouds


(off to investigate)
User avatar
Rxke
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 1757
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:54 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by Rxke »

Hey Doc, it really works! :D
User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Dude, where's my spacestation??

Post by Killer Wolf »

Alright...what the frick is going on...

loaded up Oolite onto my other machine - 2300 amd w/ an FX5700 vid card, 15g on board - and it looks lush. the meshes are gone, i've got the gamma set high so it's light enough not to bother w/ clearskies at teh mo.

load up, hype to Zaonce, 25 min trawl.....and no spacestation. on the original Elite you'd get the "S" when the planet about filled your screen - i was hitting yellow on my altimeter. i decided to orbit the planet anyways, just in case - nothing.
binned the mission, tried again - no space station.
tried Leesti instead, got jumped by an Asp, 5 mins fighting, middle of which my screen goes black for no reason, recover by F12, at which point he plays chicken and rams me into oblivion, so i don't get teh chance to see if there was a station there.

anyone come across this? i don't get it, there's a station there when i play on this machine, both installs worked fione as far as i could tell, no error messages or nowt.

:-(

KW
//\oo/\\
User avatar
LittleBear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2842
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.

Post by LittleBear »

The "vanishing station" is an occasional bug in Oolite. If something very big (like a space dredger) happens to crash into it, the force of the collision sends the Station wizzing off into deep space (along with its safe zone). Its still in the System but you've no way to find it! If you jump out and return to the system, then the Station is back at its orginal position.

The bug is very very rare. Try a jump to Zaonce again and see if its back. If its gone everytime then somthings up!

Elite was player-centric (NPC only did things if the player was there). In Oolite however, NPCs do their own thing whether the player is there to see them or not.
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2312
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

LittleBear wrote:The "vanishing station" is an occasional bug in Oolite. If something very big (like a space dredger) happens to crash into it, the force of the collision sends the Station wizzing off into deep space (along with its safe zone). Its still in the System but you've no way to find it! If you jump out and return to the system, then the Station is back at its orginal position.
HAd this, I personally watched an Ixian Battle Cruiser try to dock. BLAM!! Lots of debris and station winging it's way to the sun at speeds faster than a Cobbie 3 on Torus Drives

Captain Hesperus
"That put a real wrinkle in my day. It was probably worse for the crew of the station when it hit the sun."
User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy »

:lol: Capt - if Oolite ever becomes multi-player remind me NEVER to be in the same system as you!
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here
User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2312
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

DaddyHoggy wrote::lol: Capt - if Oolite ever becomes multi-player remind me NEVER to be in the same system as you!
:D

Captain Hesperus
"Everything has it's own reward. I'd just like someone to explain how being caught red-handed with a cargo bay full of illegal Firearms and Narcotics by a surprise GalCop raid could be rewarding. For me at least..."
Post Reply