No planet lights?

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

Post Reply
commander_STyx2909
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:22 pm

No planet lights?

Post by commander_STyx2909 »

I seems to have understood planet lights are standard nowadays.
another_commander wrote: Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:57 pm Image
Does it mean not having them is a graphic card shaders limitations?
Asus K61ic, 4Gb RAM, Nvidia GT220M (1Gb VRAM), OpenGL renderer version: 3.3.0 ("3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.108").
Ubuntu 20.06. :mrgreen:
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5880
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: No planet lights?

Post by another_commander »

No, actually planet lights are not the current default, you will have to enable them using the alpha channel of the diffuse texture of the planet. If no alpha channel exists in the diffuse texture or if it exists and is in full opacity, no planet lights will be seen.
commander_STyx2909
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:22 pm

Re: No planet lights?

Post by commander_STyx2909 »

So, are there OXPs proposing this feature yet? the 4ones in 8K, maybe?
Asus K61ic, 4Gb RAM, Nvidia GT220M (1Gb VRAM), OpenGL renderer version: 3.3.0 ("3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.108").
Ubuntu 20.06. :mrgreen:
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5880
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: No planet lights?

Post by another_commander »

LaveIsEarth has them and I believe the BPlanets WIP pack has them as well. Can't think of others right now.
Post Reply